- Jan. 9 - Ice Bowl XX - Talladega Short Track by Sam Holbrooks


Shane Clanton - Kyle Beard - Ice Bowl XX

Trumann, Arkansas' Kyle Beard joins the ranks of the lapped as Shane Clanton sails toward another "Ice Bowl" win in the 20th installment of the annual classic at Talladega Short Track. (Neil Eric Miller)

Clanton Has Clear Sailing To "Ice Bowl XX" Win at Talladega

EASTABOGA, Ala. - Jan. 9. This time last year, Shane Clanton found himself dealing with health issues that proved to get the season off to a slow start, beginning in February with a series of provisional starts and sub-par finishes with his chosen World of Outlaws Series.

Dillon Crimm - Ray Cook - Ice Bowl XX

Dillon Crimm starts alongside #53 Ray Cook before advancing to second at TST. (Neil Eric Miller)

The year 2011 started off on a little more positive note for the Fayetteville, Ga. veteran, as he returned to Victory Lane in Sunday's 20th annual "Ice Bowl" at Talladega Short Track.  Clanton led all 50 laps of the cautionless event. Only Dillon Crimm able to keep him in sight throughout the race, but the slick track and the lack of restarts prevented the local driver from getting any kind of a run on the savvy Clanton. Crimm trailed Clanton by two lengths at the finish.

Crimm settled for the second in the race, while Mississippi driver Neil Baggett offered a brief early challenge before coming in a distant third ahead of Ray Cook and inaugural 1991 "Ice Bowl" winner Ronnie Johnson.

Shane Clanton VL at TST Ice Bowl

Shane Clanton wins right out of the chute in 2011. (Ron Skinner)

Chip Brindle - Ice Bowl XX

Chip Brindle captured the Crate Late Model portion of the "Ice Bowl" at Talladega. (Ron Skinner)

Shane Clanton hd - Ice Bowl Jan. 9 - Ice Bowl XX - Talladega Short Track
1) Shane Clanton, 2) Dillon Crim, 3) Neil Baggett, 4) Ray Cook, 5) Ronnie Johnson, 6) Ross Martin, 7) Chris Jones, 8) Dwight Falcon, 9) Tim Roszell, 10) David Seibers, 11) Terry Smith, 12) Tim Busha, 13) Stacy Holmes, 14) Hunter Best, 15) Jason Wilson, 16) James Cline, 17) Randall Walker, 18) Todd Morrow, 19) Lamar Scoggins, 20) Lavon Sparks, 21) Anthony White, 22) Kyle Beard, 23) Wendell Wallace, 24) Jeff Smith, 25) Danny Peoples (52 entries)

Ron Skinner photo


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box