- IA - Sept. 4 - West Liberty Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Darren Miller Claims Season's First Open Special at West Liberty

Larry Bontz

WEST LIBERTY, Ia. - Sept. 4. After 24 teams with their open Late Models rolled through the gates of the West Liberty Raceway Saturday, 12-year veteran Darren "the thriller" Miller repassed Denny Eckrich for the lead on lap 37 and lead the remaining three laps in chalking up his first win here at the Muscatine County Fairgrounds facility for 2010.

The $2,000-to-win 40-lapper started with polesitter Rob Moss jumping out front and leading the first 11 circuits before Miller got a good run and vaulted ahead for the point on lap 12. Miller led the next 21 circuits before a caution arose on lap 33.

On the restart, Eckrich emerged ahead for the lead as Miller fell back to third. By lap 36, however, Miller had recovered his momentum to regain second, and moved around Denny Eckrich for good one lap later and paced the final three laps.

Miller was followed across the line by 11th starting Eckrich, while Nick Marolf moved from fifth to thrd. Seventh starting Brian Harris finished fourth, while Kurt Kile, who started 16th, advanced to fifth.

Heat Winners: Hurst, Miller, Moss; Dash winner: Moss

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine