- IA - July 14 - Farley Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Will Vaught - Chad Simpson at Farley Speedway 

(Above) After giving up the lead to #25 Chad Simpson, #1 Will Vaught made it a brief one by motoring back to the front and never looking back en route to Tuesday's $10,000 "Tornado Tuesday" win at Farley (Ia.) Speedway. (Mike Ruefer)

Vaught Vaults Past Birkhofer, Simpson For "Tornado Tuesday" Trophy at Farley 
Larry Bontz 
FARLEY, Ia. - July 14. Will Vaught regained the lead from Chad Simpson on lap 17 and lead the remaining 33 laps to win the Harris Golf Carts sponsored "Tornado Tuesday" Late Model event here at the Farley Speedway Tuesday.
Will Vaught at Farley Speedway. (Mike Ruefer)
Local favorite Brian Birkhofer, winner of the fast dash, led the field down the frontstretch and motored into the lead and held it for the first eight laps.
Vaught then passed Birkhofer for the top spot after a restart and led through lap 15 before Chad Simpson became the third leader of the 50-lapper.
Simpson's time up front would be short-lived, however, as Vaugt managed to get back around Simpson's #25 for the lead going down the backstretch on lap 17. Birkhofer soon followed into second, but Vaught began to put some distance between himself and the #15 of Birkhofer in the waning laps.
Vaught was gracious in victory lane. "There are a lot of good drivers here. When you beat Brian Birkhofer, you beat one of the best," said the 23-year-old pilot from Crane, Missouri. The win was worth $10,000 - the team's second as they hauled nine hours one way to compete.
Denny Eckrich at Farley Speedway SPI 
Area ace Denny Eckrich races to a seventh place finish at Farley. (Mike Ruefer)  
Curt Martin who started second, enjoyed a stellar run after recovering third, while Simpson dropped back to fourth. Jeremiah Hurst, who started 11th, came on strong in the end and finished fifth.
Farley Speedway "Harris Golf Carts 50"
1. Will Vaught, 2. Brian Birkhofer 3. Curt Martin, 4. Chad Simpson, 5. Jeremiah Hurst, 6. Chris Simpson, 7. Denny Eckrich, 8. Andrew McKay, 9. Jay Johnson, 10. Kevin Kile, 11. Jason Rauen, 12. Nick Marolf, 13. Becky Roth, 14. Ron Klein, 15. Mike Fryar, 16. Andy Eckrich, 17. Pete Parker, 18. Dan Shelliam, 19. Justin Mitchell, 20. Dave Eckrich, 21. Joel Callahan, 22. Skip Frey, 23. Jeff Larson, 24. Tyler Breuning
Heat winners: Vaught, Chad Simpson, Martin; B-Main winners: Chris Simpson, Denny Eckrich; Dash winner: Birkhofer

Mike Ruefer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine