- I-76 Speedway - Fort Morgan by Sam Holbrooks


Weekend Warriors long

 I-76 Speedway - Fort Morgan

Oct. 2: On Saturday, ten late model drivers showed up at I-76 Speedway to get in one last race before the end of the 2010 season. Scott Lewis was able to pick up his second straight win at I-76, and his sixth win of the 2010 season in his Mastersbilt late model.

 After finishing first and second in the pole dash, teammates Scott Lewis and Scott Rhoades made up an all Scott front row for the main event. On the start, Lewis would make it to corner one first and take the lead. He was able to lead from green to checkered.  Rhoades and Gary Dechant battled for second for several laps before Dechant was able to take over the spot. Rhoades finished third, while Larry Jackson and Scott Cimfl rounded out the top five.~ Cory Moul

Oct. 2 Finish:

1.) Scott Lewis, Henderson, CO, 2.) Gary Dechant, Northglenn, CO, 3.) Scott Rhoades, Arvada, CO, 4.) Larry Jackson, Brighton, CO, 5.) Scott Cimfl, Commerce City, CO, 6.) Jared Maas, Loveland, CO, 7.) Casey Botts, Dupont, CO, 8.) Jeff Meeker, Northglenn, CO, 9.) DJ Banks, Brush, CO, 10.) Brandon Lewis, Henderson, CO

Sept. 11:  Scott Lewis of Henderson, Co. was able to pick up his first win with this new series and fifth win overall in 2010. Lewis took advantage of a slow start by pole sitter Larry Jackson that bottled up the field. He was able to move from his sixth place starting spot to second before he reached the back stretch. Lewis passed Jackson going into corner three and had the lead at the end of the first lap and sailed to the win from there.

Larry Jackson stayed in second for eight laps and then lost that spot to Gary Dechant after battling with him for a few laps. Jeff Meeker was able to take over third with five laps to go. Jackson and Bill Smith rounded out the top five. ~ Cory Moul

NOTES:  A few months ago a late model driver from Northglenn, Colorado, Jeff Meeker, was able to talk Butch Spieker, owner of I-76 Speedway, in Ft. Morgan, into starting up a by-weekly late model class for the remainder of the 2010 season. With Colorado Motorsports Park, in Byers, Col.  shutting its doors in the middle of the year, there were several late model drivers that had no home track to race at so this new series was a perfect fit.

This new series has used pretty much the same rules as the Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series with two new twists. The first new rule is that all cars must run a 6200 RPM MSD rev limiter chip. This has allowed drivers with a crate motor to be on the same level as a driver with an open motor. It has turned out to be pretty successful at equaling the playing field. The second new rule is that the top two cars from the previous race must start at the rear of the field at the current race. This puts on a great show for the fans.

So far there have been five races. Three races have been won with open motors, one race has been won with an all steel motor, and one race has been won with a 604 crate motor. The series has grown a little each time there has been a race. The first race had six cars and the previous race had 11. The track owner even decided to add one more race before the end of the year. The late models will race on Saturday, October 2nd with the Demolition Derby and a couple other classes to be announced. There is a pretty good possibility that there will be over 15 cars at the last race of the season. There has also been several drivers interested in building a new car for the 2011 season and there could be close to 20 cars on a regular basis.

Sept. 11 Results: 1) Scott Lewis, 2) Gary Dechant, 3) Jeff Meeker, 4) Larry Jackson, 5) Bill Smith, 6) Dylan Schmer, 7) D.J. Banks, 8) Scott Rhoades, 9) Jared Maas, 10) Mike Opatic, 11) Bubba Alverado

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine