- FLA - May 15 - East Bay Raceway Park by Sam Holbrooks


Doug Horton - May 15

Doug Horton made the long haul from West Virginia, climbed into a Ken Nosbisch owned #11, and claimed the unsanctioned Crate Late Model special at East Bay Raceway on the 15th. (Rick Warren)

Horton - Lloyd - Waldrop

Doug Horton races the top side of #21 Ivedent Lloyd and #9 Jimmy Waldrop en route to his $3,800 win at East Bay. (Rick Warren)

West Virginia's Horton Dominates "Scott Thompson Memorial" at East Bay

By Larry Jewett

GIBSONTON, Fla. - May 15. The annual "Scott Thompson Memorial" presented by Airgas brought 32 Racecar Engineering Late Models to the East Bay Raceway Park pit area Saturday. Doug Horton of Bruceton Mills, West Virginia, jumped behind the wheel of the Ken and Diane Nosbisch Late Model and went wire-to-wire to pick up the prestigious win.

Josh Peacock - Mark Whitener

Josh Peacock moves inside of #58 Mark Whitener on his way to a third place finish at East Bay Raceway Park. Whitener started on the first row but fadd to 11th at the finish.  (Rick Warren)

Horton started from outside the front row, grabbing the lead from Mark Whitener. Horton led a torrid pace, catching lapped traffic by lap 12, but a caution spared him the traffic hassle. Behind Horton, Shan Smith and Devin Dixon were locked up in a battle for second place, trying to outgun each other on restarts.

Horton got back into lapped traffic by lap 23, but the caution came out again when 2009 track champion Jeff Mathews blew an engine. On lap 30, Dixon and Smith tangled on a restart, jamming the whole field and eliminating six cars from competition. Ivedent Lloyd, who had qualified through the consy after

Bernhardt - Kellum

Indiana's Bryan Bernhardt took his #69 to a heat race win and fourth place in the feature at East Bay, while a less fortunate John Kellum was involved in a turn one melee (below) that put him in the pits at 15th.  (Rick Warren)

East Bay Wreck

failing post-race tech after a heat win, charged into the top five from the 23rd starting spot, but Lloyd’s run ended when the car stopped in turn one.

On the restart, Smith slowed with a flat tire, jamming Dixon and Philip Cobb, who kept their spots for the lap 40 restart. David Schmauss moved into the top five and Whitener slowed on the next lap for a caution.

On the restart, Horton disappeared, stretching out the lead to 1/3 of the track at the checkered. Dixon crossed in second, but was too light at the scale. That gave the runner-up to Schmauss with Josh Peacock, Bryan Bernhardt and Doug Watson rounding out the top five.

Whitener, Horton, Cobb and Bernhardt won heats while Alex Boerner crossed first in the consolation.

OFFICIAL FINISH: 1. Doug Horton, 2. David Schmauss, 3. Josh Peacock, 4. Bryan Bernhardt, 5. Doug Watson, 6. Shan Smith, 7.Steve Mathis, 8. Kenny Monahan, 9. Mavrick Varnadore, 10. Wallace Peacock, 11. Mark Whitener, 12. Phillip Cobb, 13. Ivedent Lloyd, 14.  David Pollen Jr., 15. John Kellum, 16.  Dennis Williams, 17. Travis Varnadore, 18. Jamie Slatton, 19. Jeff Mathews, 20. Alex Boerner, 21. Roger Crouse, 22. Keith Nosbisch, 23. Frankie Erskine Jr. 24.. Devin Dixon (Disqualified)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine