- Feb. 26 - Ark-La-Tex Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Scott Burson VL3 - Pelican 100

Scott Burson photo

Ray Moore Claims "Pelican 100" Barnburner at Ark-La-Tex Speedway

from track report

VIVIAN, La. - Feb. 26. In one of the most fiercely contested events ever at Ark-La-Tex Speedway, one that wasn't decided until the final circuit, Ray Moore captured the biggest win of his career in the first annual "Pelican 100"

If the Bayou State's mascot is a lumbering, low-flying foul that wings it only in fairly short hops, the same could not be said for the event's high-flying frontrunners who joined Moore in an all-out brawl for the top spot. Vicksburg,

Ronny Hollingsworth - David Breazeale - Timothy Culp

Battling up front, #54 David Breazeale and #18 Ronny Hollingsworth take the high side around #8 Timmy Culp at Ark-La-Tex. Speedway. (Scott Burson)

Ray Moore - Morgan Bagley - Scott Burson

Ray Moore advances toward the front of the field, while newcomer Morgan Bagley (#14) eventually rolled past a fading Hollingsworth and grabbed a top five finish. (Scott Burson)

Mississippi's Bub McCool had set fast time among the 48 entries and won his heat race on Friday, then was met with a ferocious duel with Alabaman Ronny Lee Hollingsworth early on. Moore, after being content with his position just inside the top five for most of the race, turned up the wick and made it a three-way fight through traffic during the 100-lapper's last quarter.

Bub McCool - Jon Mitchell - Pelican 100

Bub McCool (#57), who earned the pole and led several laps, races outside of #5 Jon Mitchell before finally having to settle for second. (Scott Burson)

Greg Fore - Jody Mayne - Pelican 100

Central Miss. racer Greg Fore hammers down below Texas driver Jody Mayne. (Scott Burson)

During the final circuits, Mississippi's David Breazeale made an appearance among the frontrunners, closing in on the rim-riding McCool and Moore down low.  Moore was able to seal the deal on the last lap, with McCool second and Breazeale having to settle for third. Hollingsworth faded back to seventh in the late going and opened the door for Kenny Merchant and Morgan Bagley to claim top five spots at the finish. 

B.J. Robinson - Billy Moyer Jr - Pelican 100

Billy Moyer, Jr. moves inside of B.J. Robinson before putting in an eighth place showing. (Scott Burson)

Ray Moore - Bub McCool - Pelican 100 1

Ray Moore takes a racing line well below a high flying Bub McCool to prevail in the $10,000 "Pelican 100" at Ark-La-Tex Speedway. (Scott Burson)

Pelican 100 - Ark-La-Tex Speedway - Feb. 26
1) Ray Moore, 2) Bub McCool, 3) David Breazeale, 4) Kenny Merchant, 5) Morgan Bagley, 6) Wendell Wallace, 7) Ronny Lee Hollingswoth, 8) Billy Moyer, Jr., 9) Jack Sullivan, 10) Kyle Beard, 11) Jon Mitchell, 12) Timothy Culp, 13) Dewaine Hottinger,14) Josh Danzy, 15) Mike Balcaen, 16) Jon Kirby, 17) Robinson, 18) Jody Mayne, 19) Greg Fore, 20) Trey Beene, 21) Lee Davis, 22) Rob Litton. (48 entries)
Ron Skinner photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box