- Feb.2 - Winternationals - East Bay Raceway Park by Sam Holbrooks


Bloomquist - East Bay Victory Lane

Scott Bloomquist in Victory Lane on February 2nd at Tampa's East Bay Raceway Park. (Rick Schwallie)

Bloomquist Takes Night Two of "Winternationals" at East Bay Raceway Park

Series Report

TAMPA, Fla., (February 2) – Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tennessee put on a clinic Tuesday Night at East Bay Raceway Park. It was the second night of the 34th Annual DART Winternationals and he led from flag-to-flag for his third win of his career at East Bay and his 18th career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory. Bloomquist, the defending series champion, dominated the main event, earning $5,000.

Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL finished second followed by Matt Miller of Waterville, OH; Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI; and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.

Bloomquist started on the front row alongside of 12-time East Bay winner, Don O'Neal and jumped to the point, with O'Neal running second, followed by Eric Jacobsen, and Tim Isenberg. By the fourth lap, Bloomquist was already up to a six-car length advantage as he made quick work of the field early on. Jacobsen maintained his second spot until lap eight when he and O'Neal go together after both had slowed. Jacobsen was forced to leave the race with a damaged car; O'Neal continued in the second spot. O'Neal managed only one green flag until he drifted up the race track in turn two, ultimately ending his night.

On the restart Bloomquist remained strong as he now had Erb behind him in second, followed by Isenberg, who was enjoying a solid performance. Miller started to make his way towards the front,, gaining the third spot on lap ten as he brought Josh Richards and Austin Hubbard with him into the top five. Richards stayed in front until he had problems in turn two, forcing him to slow, then restart on the tail of the field.

In the Lucas Oil Victory Lane, Bloomquist talked about his dominating performance on Tuesday Night. "We just kicked everybody's butt tonight, we are on top of our game right now, and we are looking forward to a big year, we ran well at Golden Isles and to come here a track we have struggled at in the past, it feels real good to out there and do what we did tonight," said the 46 year old Bloomquist, who owns seven national touring titles in his career ,including last years' Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship.

"I wish my family was here to see this, Bob and Barb Miller they will be down later in the week, the car was outstanding and we had no problems," said Bloomquist who set fast time in the Red Buck Cigar Time Trials .

(1) Scott Bloomquist, (2) Dennis Erb, Jr., (3) Matt Miller, (4) Dan Schlieper, (5) Ray Cook, (6) Chris Wall, (7) Tim Isenberg, (8) Josh Richards, (9) Kyle Berck, (10) Jason Feger, (11) Jason McBride, (12) Steve Casebolt, (13) Tim McCreadie, (14) Austin Hubbard, (15) Brandon Thirlby, (16) John Blankenship, (17) Steve Shaver, (18) Dillon White, (19) Eric Jacobsen, (20) Don O'Neal, (21) Eric Wells, (22) Billy Moyer, (23) Justin Rattliff (prov.), (24) Daniel Stone, (25) Terry Casey, (26) Danny Mitchell,

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine