- Feb.1 - Winternationals - East Bay Raceway Park by Sam Holbrooks


Marlar Fires First Shot In "Winternationals" Opener

Series Report

TAMPA, Fla., – Feb. 1. Driving a car that had not been on the race track in over a year, Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn. led all 30 laps on the opening night of the 34th Annual DART Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park.  Marlar’s storybook win was worth $5,000 for his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory since 2004. 

Mike Marlar

Marlar started alongside Tim McCreadie on the front row of the 30 lap main event and got the early jump.  While the drivers were setting a rapid pace around the “Clay by the Bay”, Jason Feger came to a halt on the backstretch for the first caution of the race. The second caution of the new came out for a slowing Tyler Reddick on lap nine.

After the yellow for Reddick, Marlar again opened his lead on the restart as Josh Richards moved into the top five for the first time on lap ten.  Richards, who won three times a year ago, was making his way from the eighth starting spot. With nine laps to go the third and final caution came out for a slowing Justin Rattliff who had a flat tire.  Rattliff headed to the pits out of the race.

On the final restart with nine laps to go, Marlar led the field to the green flag

Josh Richards - Chris Wall

Josh Richards, who picked up three wins at East Bay in 2009, race's Louisiana's Chris Wall, who set fast time of the night. (Rick Schwallie)

with McCreadie hot on his heels.  Marlar never slipped up in the final circuits as he held off McCreadie to the checkers to score his first ever win at East Bay and his first Lucas Oil Series since winning the Hillbilly 100 at Tyler County Speedway in West Virginia in 2004.

McCreadie; who missed last year’s Winternationals due to his injuries at the Chili Bowl a year ago; crossed the line in second.

34th Annual DART Winternationals Monday Night Feature Finish (30 Laps):
(1) Mike Marlar, (2) Tim McCreadie, (3) Ray Cook, (4). Tim Dohm, (5). Josh Richards, (6) Eric Jacobsen, (7) Don O'Neal, (8) Matt Miller, (9) Dennis Erb, Jr., (10) Shannon Babb, (11) Steve Casebolt, (12) Kyle Berck, 13. Bub McCool, (14). Dillan White, (15) Tim Isenberg, (16) Tyler Reddick, (17) Daniel Stone, (18) Dan Schlieper (19) Justin Rattliff, (20) Jason McBride, (21) Chris Wall, (22) Steve Shaver, (23) Eric Wells, (24) Billy Moyer (prov.), (25) Mark Andersen, (26) Jason Feger

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine