- Aug 7 - Lake Ozark Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Mike Musslin photo

MARS: Phillips Sweeps MARS/UMP Challenge 

ELDON, Mo. -Aug. 7. Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo. led all 35 laps at Lake Ozark Speedway to sweep the weekend with the "MARS/UMP Challenge". Phillips picked up $3,000 for his efforts and recorded his series best seventh feature win of the 2010 season.

Mark Burgtorf with fellow Iowan Dave Eckrich (right). Burgtorf offered winner Phillips his srongest challenge. (Ron Mitchell)

Phillips had the field covered, with his only serious challenge coming from Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., who started outside of row two, but used a series of restarts to quickly work his way up to the leader. Burgtorf then used the high side of turns three and four to catch Phillips, but Phillips would hold his line and hold off the repeated attempts by his challenger.
Eckrich - Mooneyham - McBride
Denny Eckrich, #77 Jason McBride, and #2 Darrell Mooneyham try different paths around Lake Ozark Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)
Terry Phillips after his second win of the weekend at Tri-City Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)
After starting eighth, Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, Mo. finished third and recorded his best finish of the year with the MARS series. Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan. started the evening on just seven cylinders, but raced his way from his 13th starting position to fourth.
Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo. ran second to Phillips for the first half of the race, but jumped the cushion in turn two, allowing McCormick and Purkey to go by. Payne would try several times to regain the lost positions, but settled for fifth.
Phillips also records his series leading 74th career win with the MARS series.
The MARS DIRTcar Series returns to action next Friday August 13th at Outlaw Motor Speedway in Oktaha, OK.
Gary Christian dog - Lake Ozark Speedway
Just a couple of guys waiting for something to happen. (Ron Mitchell)
Aug. 7 - MARS/UMP - Lake Ozark Speedway
1) Terry Phillips 2) Mark Burgtorf 3) Brandon McCormick 4) Al Purkey 5) Jeremy Payne 6) Dave Eckrich 7) Brandon Sheppard 8) Frank Heckenast 9) Mark Voigt 10) Eric Turner 11) Tony Jackson, Jr. 12) Denny Eckrich 13) Jason McBride 14) Matt Furman 15) Dustin Mooneyham 16) Danny Haynes 17) Darrell Mooneyham 18) Ricky Frankel 19) Justin Asplin 20) Chris Fetter 21) Leroy Johnson 22) Gary Christian
Heat winners (34 entries) Phillips, Burgtorf, Payne, Dave Eckrich, B-Feature winners: McBride, Frankel
Terry Phillips hd LO

Mike Musslin photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine