- Aug 1 - 81 Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


NCRA/CLMA: Boen Goes Three Straight at 81 Speedway

David Smith Jr.

PARK CITY, Kan. - Aug. 1. By virtue of compiling the highest amount of passing and finishing points in heat race action, four-time and current points leader Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado completed a sweep of the weekend as he led wire to wire in capturing his ninth feature victory of the season Sunday at 81 Speedway.
Boen captured last night's event at Dodge City Raceway Park, with both events being held in conjunction with the Colorado based CLMA DIRTCar series.
Boen took the lead as the green flag fell for the 30-lap event with outside front row starter Alan Vaughn settling into the runner up position. Third starting Al Purkey of Coffeyvile, Kansas gave early indication of where the battle of position would be throughout the race as both drivers battled most of the feature finale for the runner up position.
Boen, aboard the Road Runner Fabrication/Peterson Fluid Systems sponsored Rocket chassis worked anywhere he could around the three-eighths mile oval, opening up a sizeable full stretch lead by lap two. By lap five the career leader in late model feature victories had began entering lapped traffic on lap five.
At the halfway point it was all Boen, followed by Vaughn, Purkey and series leading rookie Jase Kaser. Just one lap later, the first of two cautions waved when Gary Gorby and Jason Schierkolk got together in turns one and two.
With the 12 lapped cars, Boen conquered getting the "lucky dog" and restarting at the tail of the field, Vaughn and Purkey lined up right behind the Henderson, Colorado veteran. But that didn't detour Boen as he once again set sail away from the rest of the field and a quick half stretch lead.
On lap 20 the final caution of the feature fell when J.T. Botts and Tyler Gottschalk got together in turn four.
On the final restart there was no catching Boen as he led the final ten laps unchallenged to pick up the victory. Purkey, who got around Vaughn on the earlier lap 16 restart for the runner up position, finished in that position a full front straightaway behind Boen. Ryan McAninch got around Vaughn late for the third spot with Gary Christian rounding out the top five.
Grand Junction, Colorado veteran Dean Moore experienced problems in his heat race, forcing him to start 11th in the ten lap "B" feature that was won by Cale Gottchalk. Moore would finish fourth and earn him an 18th starting position in the feature finale. Moore would earn the races hard charger award passing 11 cars for a sixth place finish.
August 1 - NCRA - 81 Speedway
1) Kelly Boen 2) Al Purkey 3) Ryan McAninch 4) Alan Vaughn 5) Gary Christian 6) Evan Hubert 7) Dean Moore 8) David Brach 9) Scott Lewis 10) Corey Zeitner 11) Jase Kaser 12) Dave Garman 13) Craig Baukema 14) Kelly Dunn 15) Mark Myers 16) Justin Kinderknecht 17) Gary Gorby 18) J.T. Botts 19) Mke Furthmyer 20) Tyler Gottschalk 21) Jason Schierkolk 22) Cale Gottschalk 23) Rick Leatherman
Heat Winners (27 entries): Purkey, Boen, Kaser; B Feature winner: Gottschalk

Ron Mitchell photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine