- Aug 13 - Outlaw Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Terry Phillips - Jeremy Payne - Outlaw Motor Speedway MARS

Terry Phillips (#75) shared heat wins with teammate Jeremy Payne (#74) before continuing to his third MARS Dirtcar Series feature win at Outlaw Motor Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)

MARS: Phillips Three Straight at Outlaw Motor Speedway

MUSKOGEE, Okla. - Aug. 13. Terry Phillips, of Springfield, Mo., extended his recent hot streak with his third straight victory on the MARS Dirtcar Series - this time at the Outlaw Motor Speedway. It was also a record setting eighth win of the season for the second generation veteran.

Phillips started on the pole and led early, but it was second row starting Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo. that had the car to beat.  Payne took the lead from Phillips on lap six and opened up a huge lead.  Unfortunately, Payne slowed on the track on lap 22 with a flat tire, giving the lead back to Phillips.  Payne would join the back of the field and rally back for an 11th place finish.

Eric Turner - Brandon McCormick - Outlaw Motor Speedway MARS

Eric Turner (#99) and #42 Brandon McCormick claimed second and third at OMS. (Ron Mitchell)

Eric Turner, also of Springfield, started sixth on the grid and by lap two he was in third.  Turner would race in the top three for much of the race and finish behind Phillips in second.  Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, Mo. started fifth in the feature and finished third.  Raymond Merrill of Sallisaw, OK using McCormick's back up car, started ninth in the feature and finished a respectable fourth.
Current Rookie of the Year point leader Gary Christian of Broken Bow, Okla. started seventh and finished fifth. Christian's last top five was on June 5th at the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kan.

With just 16 teams on hand, Phillips and teammate Jeremy Payne were heat winners.

Terry Phillips VL at Outlaw Motor Speedway MARS

Terry Phillips and crew at Outlaw Motor Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)

Aug. 13 - MARS - Outlaw Motor Speedway
1) Terry Phillips 2) Eric Turner 3) Brandon McCormick 4) Raymond Merrill 5) Gary Christian 6) Rylan Long 7) Dustin Mooneyham 8) Colton Dunlap 9) Dan Leatherman 10) Leroy Johnson 11) Jeremy Payne 12) Darrell Mooneyham 13) Houston Garrison 14) Curtis Whittle 15) Shane Essary 16) Danny Womack

Heat winners: Phillips, Payne

Ron Mitchell photo









LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine