- Aug. 5 - Mt. Pleasant Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Dona Marcoullier and Brandon Thirlby at Mount Pleasant Speedway ALMS

Dona Marcoullier offers a challenge to leader Brandon Thirlby (14) before Thirlby drove off to the ALMS win at Mt. Pleasant Speedway Friday. (Jim Denhamer)

Brandon Thirlby after a dominant win at Mt. Pleasant Speedway. (Jim Denhamer)

ALMS/UMP: Thirlby Blisters Short Field For Mt. Pleasant Win

Track report

MT. PLEASANT, Mich. — The Sunoco American Late Model Series (ALMS) made its second stop of the 2011 season at the Mt. Pleasant Speedway on Friday for a $2,000 to win feature. Brandon Thirlby controlled the pace to take the win in the 25-lap feature.

Although low on car count because of a conflicting race in Ohio, the field was still packed with plenty of star power as 14 of the best UMP Late Model drivers from around the Midwest made the call.

Zack Olger and Jon Henry

Zack Olger and #15 Jon Henry race for fifth place at Mt. Pleasant. (Steve Datema) 

At the drop of the green, Thirlby's M14 was on a mission to get to victory lane. The Traverse City native did not disappoint the packed crowd as he set blistering laps around the three-eighths mile clay oval. Deeper in the field was a lot of jogging for positions as several drivers swapped spots in the top five.

When all was said and done, Thirlby would get the huge payday and get his Thirlby Automotive Late Model into victory lane. Following Thirlby were Houghton Lake’s Dona Marcoullier, ClarkLake’s Brian Ruhlman, the defending ALMS champion, Blanchard’s Mark Andersen, and St. Johns’ Zack Olger.

Sam Epling and Eric Spangler at Mount Pleasant Speedway

Sam Epling and #27 Eric Spangler race for position at midfield at Mt. Pleasant Speedway. (Jim Denhamer)

The night also got off to a blazing start as seven Late Model drivers broke the previous Mt. Pleasant Speedway Late Model track record set on May 27 this year by No. 91 Rusty Schlenk at 14.04 seconds. Those shattering the record included Olger, Epling, Marcoullier, Andersen, Thirlby, No. 23v Ryan VanderVeen, and new record-holder No. 13H J.R. Hotovy of Muskegon with a mark of 13.64 seconds.

Aug. 6 - Mt. Pleasant Speedway ALMS
1) Brandon Thirlby, 2) Dona Marcoullier, 3) Brian Ruhlman, 4) Mark Anderson, 5) Zack Olger, 6) Jon Henry, 7) Ryan Vanderveen, 8) Sam Epling, 9) Eric Spangler, 10) Scott Baker, 11) J.R. Hotovy, 12) Josh Kroll, 13) Brad Hardin, 14) Adam Thrush.
Fast Time (14 entries): Hotovy (13.64)

Jim Denhamer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box