- Aug. 4 - Farley Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Andy Eckrich after his first career IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series win at Farley (Ia.) Speedway. (K.C. Rooney)
 Eckrich outruns Farley field for first Deery win  
Bill Martin and Larry Bontz   
FARLEY, Ia. – Aug. 3. A first-time winner took the $2,000 checkers Tuesday  in the first Deery Broth­ers Summer Series event at Farley Speedway in nearly seven years. 
Andy Eckrich ran away from the rest of the IMCA Late Model tour feature field, leading the last 43 of 50 cir­cuits. Runner-up Terry Neal was a half lap off the pace when Eckrich crossed the stripe. 
Eckrich already owned a pair of second place finishes in main event starts and was the top rookie in series standings heading 
   Jeff Aikey - Farley Speedway Deery Brothers
Jeff Aikey races his damaged mount toward a fourth place finish. (K.C. Rooney)
into the "Tornado Tuesday" program.
Ray Guss, Jr. before posting at third place at Farley. (K.C. Rooney) 
Point leader Ray Guss Jr., defending champion Jeff Aikey and Mark Preston rounded out the top five. Charlie McKenna worked his way up to sixth from the 24th starting spot to score hard charger honors and also pock­eted the $250 Sunoco drawing bonus. 
Aikey, winner of the last Deery race at Farley, in 2003, started on the pole and ran in front as cautions slowed the first seven laps. 
Jason Rauen and a crewmember get busy on his #98 at Farley Speedway. (K.C. Rooney) 
Eckrich, the youngest of three racing brothers, took over the point on lap eight, then dealt with a myriad of cautions that finally ended on lap 36. The race ran green the rest of the way. but Eckrich was clearly in a class by himself.  
McKenna had to start his drive toward the front twice, first from the initial green flag and then after advancing to midpack, being involved in a caution and then restarting in the rear. 
Tire issues deflated the hopes of two other contenders, Kevin Blum and Jason Rauen. 
Blum started outside row one, exited early with two rear flats, then raced his way back to fifth and eventually settled for seventh place pay. 
   Jeff Aikey - Jason Rauen - Deery Bros at Farley Speedway
Jeff Aikey and #98 Jason Rauen in action at Farley Speedway. (Daniel Busch)
Rauen made an even more impressive charge after making an early bid for the lead, then driving off with a broken left rear wheel. 
He tagged the back of the back and rocketed to second before being kayoed for good by a cut tire. 
McKenna, Blum and 14th place finisher T.J. Criss all piloted borrowed rides for the midweek special. 
Andy Eckrich hd Deery Brothers Summer Series - Farley Speedway
1). Andy Eckrich, 2) Terry Neal, 3) Ray Guss Jr., 4). Jeff Aikey, 5) Mark Preston, 6). Charlie McKenna,7). Kevin Blum, 8). Joel Callahan, 9). Josh Most, 10). Dan Shelliam, 11). Ben Nading, 12). Joe Zrostlik, 13). Darrel DeFrance, 14). T.J. Criss, 15). Rob Petsche, 16). Tyler Bruening, 17). Jason Rauen, 18). Luke Goedert, 19). Bryan Klein, 20). Brian Harris, 21). Jeremiah Hurst, 22). Bobby Hansen, 23). Todd Malmstrom, 24). Rob Toland, 25). Cory Goldbeck
Heat winners (25 entries): Blum, Rauen, Eckrich; B-Main winner: Malmstrom

Daniel Busch photo


LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine