- Aug. 28 - Lucas Oil Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Dave Eckrich - Brandon McCormick - Lucas Oil Speedway MLRA

Brandon McCormcik chases #58 Dave Eckrich to the checkered flag for a close finish at Lucas Oil Speedway MLRA. (Lloyd Collins)


MLRA: Eckrich Gets First Series Win; Narrow Points Lead

Dan Robinson

WHEATLAND, Mo. - June 28. Oxford, Iowa's Dave Eckrich scored his first ever Lucas Oil MLRA win on Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway as he fought off a hard charging Brandon McCormick for the win by less than a car length at the finish.

A happy Dave Eckrich emerges from his race car at Lucas Oil Speedway.(Lloyd Collins)
Tucson, Arizona modified ace R.C. Whitwell made an impressive showing with the Late Models to take third at the finish. Quincy, Illinois' Mark Burgtorf came across the AAA Finish line in fourth while 15th starting Billy Moyer, Jr. advanced 10 positions to finish in the fifth spot.

Giltner, Nebraska veteran Al Humphrey was sixth at the finish followed by Republic, Missouri's Brad Looney in seventh. Alan Vaughn rallied to finish in eighth with Mendon, Illinois' Denny Woodworth taking the ninth spot. Walnut Grove, Missouri's Jeremy Kelley drove his all-steel ULMA powered GRT to tenth.

Billy Moyer Jr - Denny Woodworth - MLRA at Lucas Oil Speedway

Billy Moyer, Jr. looks under #45 Denny Woodworth on his way to fifth place at LOS.  Woodworth claimed ninth at the finish. (Lloyd Collins)

Six-time Champion Al Purkey made contact with an infield tractor tire while leading at the halfway point, damaging the front suspension on his Larry Shaw Race Car before ultimately finishing in the 22nd spot. Brad Looney held on for a seventh place finish despite running the last 15 laps with a quickly deflating left front tire. The caution-free 40-lap main event was worth $3,000 to win.

Mark Burgtorf - Alan Vaughn - Lucas Oil Speedway MLRA
Iowa standout Mark Burgtorf tagged on with the MLRA troops and posted a very respectable fourth place. Eventual eighth place finisher Alan Vaughn (#22) challenges Burgtorf, to no avail. (Lloyd Collins)

With Eckrich's win and the misfortune of point leader Al Purkey, Eckrich has now jumped to the top of the Lucas Oil MLRA point standings by a slim four point margin over Purkey. Brad Looney also made up ground on the leaders as he sits in the third spot, just 16 points behind Eckrich. Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer Joe Kosiski has continued to work his way up the standings as he sits in fourth with Springfield, Missouri's Terry Phillips slipping to the fifth spot after skipping this weekend's action.

Veterans Ken Essary and ##53 Joe Kosiski race deep in the field at Lucas Oil Speedway.

(Chris Bork)

Al Purkey - Lucas Oil SW MLRA

Problems for Al Purkey after he nailed an infield tire. His 21st place finish combined with the Eckrich win served to push the Kansas ace back to second in MLRA points. (Chris Bork)

MLRA - Lucas Oil Speedway
1. Dave Eckrich; 2. Brandon McCormick, 3. R.C. Whitwell, 4. Mark Burgtorf, 5. Billy Moyer, Jr., 6. Al Humphrey, 7. Brad Looney, 8. Alan Vaughn, 9. Denny Woodworth, 10. Jeremy Kelley, 11. David Turner, 12. Larry Jones, 13. Joe Kosiski, 14. Bryant Goldsmith, 15. Evan Hubert, 16. Chris Spieker, 17. Ken Essary, 18. Justin Wells, 19. Rylan Long, 20. Brantlee Gotschall, 21. Al Purkey, 22. Matt Johnson, 23. Justin Asplin (prov.), 24. Aaron Seabaugh (prov.).
Heat winners (34 entries): Eckrich, Purkey, McCormick, Burgtorf, Moyer; B-Main winners: Turner, Moyer

Ron Mitchell photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine