- Aug. 28 - Brighton Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


ODLM: Scott Wins Ontario Final, Winds Up Title Bid

By Greg Calnan

BRIGHTON, Ont.  – Aug. 28. The Ontario Dirt Late Models were delayed by one week in completing the tours 2010 schedule, but for David Scott of Garland, Pennsylvania, it was worth the wait. Scott cruised to his third win of the season and captured the series championship in the process.

The 30-lap main event featured hometown driver Charlie Sandercock on the pole with Mark Glassford on the outside. When the green flag dropped and the racing began it was apparent the points contenders would make their way to the front quickly. Scott started seventh, one row behind second place point man Greg Oakes. The two drivers along with Chad Valone charged towards the front. Three early race cautions slowed the opening laps of the race, but by lap six, Scott had moved passed Sandercock for the top position.

The most spectacular crash of the evening came on lap nine when Jim Jones and Andrew Hennessy tangled. Hennessy's #87 was sent rolling over on the backstretch. Both cars were heavily damaged and unable to continue.

When the racing resumed it was Scott, Valone, Sandercock, Oakes and Lee Gill running in the top five. Sandercock was strong all evening and gave the defending champion Oakes a run for his money. Eventually Oakes would move past the #57 and into the top three. This set up the top three in points to duel it out for the race win.

A pair of lap 20 cautions for spins by Andrew Reaume and Phil Potts bunched the field for the final ten laps. Scott was hooked up on the bottom groove and pulled away from the rest of the field. The biggest scare of the night for the point leader came with just two laps to go as Rob Perry hooked an infield barrier and looped the car wildly right in front of Scott. The pilot of the #3 was able to make a quick maneuver though to avoid colliding with the lapped car and kept the lead for the final restart.

When the green came back out on lap 28 Scott again powered away from car owner and teammate Valone for the win. The victory helped clinch the 2010 Ontario Dirt Late Model Championship for the Pennsylvania driver. The unofficial margin of victory was 10 points over Oakes and 29 over Valone.


Ontario Dirt Late Models - Brighton (Ont.) Speedway

1) David Scott, 2) Chad Valone, 3) Greg Oakes, 4) Charlie Sandercock, 5) Lee Gill, 6) Kirk Hooker, 7) Adam West, 8) Brett Reaume, 9) Chris Ross, 10) Caley Weese, 11) Corey Earl, 12) Chuck Meyer, 13) Dale Glassford, 14) Rob Perry, 15) Jeff Dayman, 16) Doug Anderson, 17) Keith Cameron, 18) Phil Potts, 19) Mark Glassford, 20) Andrew Reaume, 21) Jason Fontaine, 22) Jim Jones, 23) Andrew Hennessy, 24) Jeff Mutton, 25) Beau Brown.
Heat winners (25 entries): Gill, Scott, Glassford, Sandercock.









ODLMS Points: David Scott - 375; Greg Oakes - 365, Chad Valone - 346, Kirk Hooker - 329, Greg Belyea - 229

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine