- Aug. 28 - Bluegrass Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Don O'Neal VL Bluegrass Speedway Lucas Oil Series

Don O'Neal at Bluegrass Speedway. (Rick Schwallie)

Lucas Oil Series: O'Neal Seals the Deal at Bluegrass Speedway 

James Essex

BARDSTOWN, Ky. - Aug. 28. Finally finishing up front after leading in five of the previous seven events he's competed in, Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind. won his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event of the season on Saturday at Bluegrass Speedway. The win was also his second career "Bluegrass Classic." O'Neal led all 50 laps.

Mike Marlar - Scott Bloomquist - Bluegrass Speedway Lucas Oil Late Model Series

Mike Marlar rolls under Scott Bloomquist on lap six to take over second at Bluegrass. (Rick Schwallie)

"It's about time we got back to victory lane," said O'Neal, who earned $10,000 for the win. "We have always run well here, and tonight this was a new car we brought out. I can't thank Tader Masters enough for his support. We have run really well over the last month and had nothing to show for it, so I'll savor this win for a while," said O'Neal, who claimed his 14th career Lucas Oil Series win.

"The car drove great all night," O'Neal added. "I could hear (Mike) Marlar a few times and saw his number on the scoreboard and I knew he would give us a good clean race."

Brian Birkhofer - Brady Smith - Lucas Oil Late Model Series at Bluegrass Speedway

Brian Birkhofer (#15) raised his game over the weekend with a third place at Bluegrass Speedway to follow up his runner up finish the previous night at Lawrenceburg. Brady Smith drove his #2 to fifth at Bardstown. (Rick Schwallie)

O'Neal, who started on the pole, was a rocket ship all night long as he got the advantage over Scott Bloomquist heading into turn one on the opening circuit. Marlar was able to get by Bloomquist on lap six. He challenged O'Neal several times, but just as the leader began to catch the tail-end of the field, the

Steve Francis - Jimmy Owens - Brady Smith - Bluegrass Speedway Lucas Oil Late Model Series

Steve Francis, #20 Jimmy Owens, and #2 Brady Smith fly three-wide during Lucas Oil Late Model Series action at Bluegrass Speedway Saturday. (Rick Schwallie)

ten laps as he outran Marlar to the checkers, scoring his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win since February at East Bay Raceway Park.

Marlar in the Wells Racing entry, was able to hold off 11th starting Brian Birkhofer to hang on to second. Birkhofer took third over Bloomquist and Brady Smith.

Lucas Oil Series - Bluegrass Speedway
1) Don O'Neal, 2) Mike Marlar, 3) Brian Birkhofer, 4) Scott Bloomquist, 5) Brady Smith, 6) Ray Cook, 7) Brad Neat, 8) Dale McDowell, 9) Jimmy Owens, 10) Earl Pearson Jr. (prov.), 11) Matt Miller, 12) Chris Wall, 13) Dustin Neat, 14) Shane Clanton, 15) Steve Casebolt, 16) Eric Wells, 17) Steve Francis, 18) Brandon Kinzer, 19) John Blankenship, 20) Tim Isenberg, 21) Jeff Watson (prov.), 22) Tim Tungate, 23) Dan Schlieper (prov.), 24) Justin Rattliff, 25) Lee Devasier (prov.) 26) Scott James.
Fast Time (34 entries): O'Neal (14.772). Heat winners: O'Neal, Marlar, Bloomquist, Smith; B-Main winners: James, Clanton.

Drew England photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine