- Aug. 27 - Bluegrass Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Don O'Neal VL at Bluegrass Speedway Lucas Oil Series
Don O'Neal celebrates the second win of the weekend on the Lucas Oil Series at Bluegrass Speedway Saturday. (Robert Sell)
Lucas Oil Series: O'Neal Doubles For the Weekend With "Bluegrass Classic" Win
James Essex
BARDSTOWN, Ky. – Aug. 27. For the second night in a row, Don O’Neal ended up in victory lane.  The 47-year-old Martinsville, Indiana driver started on the pole and led all 50 laps in winning the 11th annual "Bluegrass Classic" at Bluegrass Speedway. 
O’Neal was driving the MasterSbilt House car, and earned $10,000 for the victory which came on the heels of his win Friday at Lawrenceburg. O’Neal’s 17th career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series came over Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., and Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Ia.
 Bub McCool, Tyler Reddick, Dustin Neat at Bluegrass Speedway
Bub McCool, #25 Dustin Neat, and #11 in close combat just inside the top ten at Bluegrass Speedway. (Robert Sell)
O’Neal won the race at Bluegrass a year ago made a clean sweep of the night’s activities as he set fast time, won his heat, got the lead at the start of the race, and held on the rest of the way. “We had a good qualifying effort, ran the heat race strong and got out front before it became one-laned, the lapped cars gave us plenty of room, but they started to dice it up, and I didn’t want to make a mistake,” O'Neal said after the race.
“If you dared to step up out of groove it was going to cost you. We’ve not been good the last two weeks, but the last three nights we have been real good, Tader, Cody, Randy, Steve and everybody else back at the shop, thanks to Jerry Jones and his wife for their support.” O’Neal sits third in the series points standings.
Jared Landers, John Blankenship, Justin Wells at Bluegrass Speedway
Eric Wells, #23 John Blankenship, and #777 Jared Landers slug it out deep in the field before taking 16th through 18th, respectively. (Robert Sell)
McDowell finished second at Volunteer Speedway on Thursday was pleased with his second place run at Bardstown. “With the year we’ve had, to have two second place finishes, just shows you we never quit.  Lawrenceburg didn’t go so good, but tonight the car was good, just not good enough to get the win, once Don got in front it was pretty much all she wrote,” said the driver of the Crawford Supply, Clint Bowyer Racing, Rocket Chevrolet.
Bloomquist finished third to close to within 130 points of Jimmy Owens, who finished sixth for the second night in a row.

Aug. 27 - Lucas Oil Series at Bluegrass Speedway

1) Don O'Neal, 2) Dale McDowell, 3) Scott Bloomquist, 4) Steve Francis, 5) Brian Birkhofer, 6) Jimmy Owens, 7) Brad Neat, 8) Tyler Reddick, 9) Dustin Neat, 10) Bub McCool, 11) Scott James, 12) Mike Marlar, 13) Frank Heckenast, Jr., 14) Daniel Stone, 15) Earl Pearson, Jr., 16) Eric Wells, 17) John Blankenship, 18) Jared Landers (prov.), 19) Jeff Watson, 20) Tim Rivers, 21) Eric Jacobsen, 22) Tim Tungate, 23) Lee DeVasier, 24) Mike Jewell, 25) Ray Cook, 26) Justin Rattliff
Fast Time (32 entries): O’Neal (15.185); Heat winners: O’Neal, Birkhofer, McDowell, Francis; B-Main winners:
Stone, Heckenast.

Robert Sell photo


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box