- Aug. 27 - Beebe Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Wendell Wallace - MSRA at Beebe Speedway

Wendell Wallace finally put one over the top at Beebe Speedway after 36 special event entries in 2010. (Woody Hampton) 

MSRA: Wallace Nails Season's First Win in MSRA Stop at Beebe

Ben Shelton (MSRA p.r.)

BEEBE, Ark. – Aug. 27.  Wendell Wallace, of Greenbrier, Ark., got the jump on Jon Mitchell on an early race restart and outgunned the competition on Friday at Beebe Speedway to gain his first COMP Cams MSRA Late Model win of the 2010 season.

Kyle Beard - Bill Frye - MSRA at Beebe Speedway

Bill Frye looks to the outside of #86 Kyle Beard on his way from deep in the field to third at Beebe. (Woody Hampton)

Via passing points, Mitchell earned the JFR Graphics pole position for the 30-lap feature, which paid $2,000 to win.  He was joined on the front row by Shane Stephens.  Mitchell snagged the lead at the drop of the green flag as Billy Moyer Jr., Wallace, and Brandon Smith joined the pursuit.

Mitchell led early in the feature before rearend issues caused him to start slowing as the event progressed, and on an early restart, Wallace raced past

Jon Mitchell - Bill Frye - MSRA at Beebe Speedway

Early leader Jon Mitchell fades with rear end issues as #66 Bill Frye drives outside on his way to third place at Beebe. (Woody Hampton)

to take the lead, and Moyer soon followed to move into third.  As Wallace and Moyer began to battle for the lead, a pair of drivers were on the move as 12th starting Bill Frye, and 14th starting Curtis Cook worked through the pack.

As the race continued, Wallace would slowly begin to creep away from the pack and would go on to claim the feature win over Moyer, Frye, Cook, and Joey Mack.

Joe Mack - Beebe Speedway MSRA Late Models

Southeastern Missouri's Joey Mack works his way through traffic on his way to a top five at Beebe. (Woody Hampton)

With his second place finish, Moyer won the RiceTec Summer Showdown and claimed the $1,000 top prize for his efforts.  Mitchell won $500 from GRT Race Cars for being the top performing GRT competitor in the mini-series.  Frye won a Fast Shafts Driveshaft, while Jon Kirby received an Integra certificate for a shock rebuild. Mack received an Integra certificate for a spring package. 

Jeff Floyd - MSRA Late Models at Beebe Speedway

Walnut Ridge, Ark. veteran Jeff Floyd looks for an opening on a crowded playing field at Beebe, Ark. (Woody Hampton) 

Dewaine Hottinger received the Hard Luck award after a broken ball joint in heat race action while leading forced him to a b-main, where he would sustain heavy damage to his car in a melee'.  He used a provisional to start at the back of the feature and would retire early with a badly wounded entry.

Aug. 28 - MSRA - Beebe Speedway
1) Wendell Wallace, 2) Billy Moyer Jr., 3) Bill Frye, 4) Curtis Cook, 5) Joey Mack, 6) Jon Mitchell, 7) Shane Harris, 8) Jon Kirby, 9) Brandon Smith, 10) Kyle Beard, 11) Eddie Provence, 12) Shane Stephens, 13) Clay Fisher, 14) Jeff Floyd, 15) Travis Ashley, 16) Daniel Waters, 17) Jamie Dacus, 18) Dewaine Hottinger (prov.), 19) Wade Johnson, 20) Terry Henson.
Heat winners: Mitchell, Moyer, Wallace, Stephens; B-Main winner: Henson

Woody Hampton photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine