- Aug. 22 - Sedalia's State Fair Speedway (NCRA) by Sam Holbrooks


MLRA/NCRA: Boen Grabs Missouri State Championship Event at Sedalia

Dan Robinson

SEDALIA, Mo. - Aug. 22. Henderson, Colorado's Kelly Boen continued his
career assault on the big half-miles as he captured the Lucas Oil MLRA portion of the prestigious Missouri State Fair Championship at Sedalia's State Fair Speedway on Sunday.

In a race slowed by only two cautions, Omaha's John Anderson was second at the finish with Adrian, Missouri's David Turner in third, Republic, Missouri's Brad Looney in fourth, and Coffeyville, Kansas' Al Purkey rounding out the top five.

Boen and Turner led the 22-car field to the green flag from the front row but a spin by St. Charles, Missouri's Kevin Gundaker brought out the first caution of
the evening on the ultra-slick half-mile. Also collected in the initial caution, were Chris Smyser, Jason O'Brien, and Dave Eckrich, but all continued as the field took the green flag for a second try at an original start.

Boen checked out under the green flag, opening up a half straightaway lead by lap five, with Joe Kosiski and David Turner in tow, but the caution flag flew once again on lap eight as Smyser slowed in turn three before retiring
to the pit area.

Boen checked out once again on the restart, with John Anderson now in second, trailed by Turner, Brad Looney, and a charging Purkey. The race went green for the remainder of the race as Boen scored his 16th career Lucas Oil
MLRA victory in convincing fashion in his familiar red and white #07 Roadrunner Fabrication and Peterson Fluid Systems sponsored Rocket.

Coucil Bluffs, Iowa's Mike Collins was involved in a first lap heat race crash, with his #3 sustaining extensive front end damage that forced him out of the remainder of the evening's action.

Aug. 22 - MLRA - State Fair Speedway
1. Kelly Boen 2. John Anderson, 3. David Turner, 4. Brad Looney, 5. Al Purkey, 6. Randy McGraw, 7. Bill Koons, 8. Joe Kosiski, 9. Brandon McCormick, 10. Jack Sullivan, 11. J.D. Hubert, 12. Jason O'Brien, 13. Dave Eckrich (prov.), 14. Chris Spieker, 15. Matt Johnson, 16. Justin Asplin, 17. Dustin Vance, 18. Dustin Walker, 19. Shorty Acker, 20. Joe Walkenhorst, 21. Chris Smyser (prov.), 22. Kevin Gundaker.
Heat winners: Turner, Kosiski, and Anderson. B-Main winner: McCormick
Ron Mitchell photo


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine