- Aug. 21 - Sedalia State Fair Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


John Anderson VL at Sedalia State Fair Speedway

John Anderson after nailing down his first win of the season at Sedalia State Fair Speedway. (Lloyd Collins)


MLRA: Anderson Finds Season's First Trophy at Sedalia


Trenton Berry


SEDALIA, Mo. - Aug. 21. Leading all 30 laps in Sunday evening's Lucas Cattle Company A Feature, John Anderson earned his first Lucas Oil MLRA win of the season at Sedalia State Fair Speedway.


"We know our team, and we know we've been struggling the first part of the year. It's been coming around. I was probably overdriving the last few times out. This time I just calmed down," the Nebraska driver explained after the win.


Jason Bodenhamer and Chris Smyser at Sedalia State Fair Speedway MLRA

Running only occasionally with the MLRA tour in 2011, Jason Bodenhamer and Chris Smyser race door to door at Sedalia. (Lloyd Collins) 


Anderson started sixth in his heat and won it to gain the most passing points for the evening.


"It was the perfect night for us, we drew good, won our heat, started on the pole. You just never know, there's so many fast cars behind you. I just tried to cut out the mistakes. We were able to capitalize on a good car and good run," Anderson added.


Al Purkey and David Turner at Sedalia State Fair Speedway MLRA

Al Purkey looks under #15 David Turner before taking over second at State Fair Speedway. (Lloyd Collins)


Anderson has now won two of the last three Missouri State Fair Championship races. "It just fits me pretty well," Anderson said of the half-mile speedway. "Vinny has been working really hard. Boss has been giving us what we need, and not given up on us. He tells us to just keep digging. This is really the fruits of our labor over the last couple months."


With Al Purkey's second place finish, Anderson gained two points in the battle for the season championship. He drives for Greg Junghans in the Shop Quik MasterSbilt. Their cars are powered by Jay Dickens Racing Engines. Sunoco Race Fuels and Turbo Car Wash also provide sponsorship support.


David Turner ran second for the majority of the race and finished third ahead of Brantlee Gotschall and Alan Vaughn.


John Anderson and Matt Johnson at Sedalia

Matt Johnson (5) and eventual feature winner John Anderson at Sedalia.  Johnson picked up sixth place in the main event. (Lloyd Collins)



Aug. 20 - MLRA at Sedalie State Fair Speedway

1. John Anderson 2. Al Purkey 3. David Turner 4. Brantlee Gotschall 5. Alan Vaughn 6. Matt Johnson 7. Joe Kosiski 8. Kevin Coyne 9. Brandon Morton 10. Chris Smyser 11. Kelly Smith 12. Bryon Allison 13. Justin Asplin 14. Dustin Walker 15. Randy McGraw 16. Bob King 17. David Janes 18. Bob Cummings 19. Jason Bodenhamer 20. Jon Binning 21. Jason Sivils 22. Richard Weber 23. Joe Walkenhorst 24. Scott Koskovich 25. Dustin Vance 26. Bryant Goldsmith

Heat winners (26 entries): Anderson, Gotschall, Turner

Lloyd Collins photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box