- Aug. 21 - Batesville Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Don O'Neal, Shannon Babb, Scott Bloomquist at Topless 100

With eventual winner Scott Bloomquist tucked into third, Don O'Neal and #18 Shannon Babb launch the annual "Topless 100" at Batesville Speedway. O'Neal and Babb failed to go the distance, and Bloomquist scored the $40,000 win. (Ron Mitchell)

Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Claims Fourth "Topless 100" Trophy at Batesville

James Essex

BATESVILLE, Ark. - Aug. 21. A one day delay in the 19th annual Comp Cams "Topless 100" didn't slow down Scott Bloomquist as he claimed the win in the annual classic at Batesville Speedway Sunday afternoon. It was his fourth event win, one that netted the Mooresburg, Tenn. driver $40,000.

Rain abruptly halted the 100-lap event after 12 laps of the feature on Saturday. The race resumed on a steamy Sunday afternoon at the 3/8-mile oval.  Before the green ever waved, bad luck struck fifth place runner, Dale McDowell. His left front tire rolled away from his #17 Clint Bowyer Motorsports Rocket.  He ducked into the hot pit to get the tire reattached, but had to join the tail of the field.

Tyler Reddick and Billy Moyer at Batesville Speedway

California teenager Tyler Reddick set fast time among 55 entries and finished an impressive fifth at Batesville. (Ron Mitchell)

As the action finally resumed, Bloomquist led the field back to the green flag with Jimmy Owens, Shannon Babb, Jared Landers, and Bub McCool in tow. Bloomquist quickly extended his advantage to five lengths as Owens tried to keep pace. The caution flag was displayed on lap 15 as fourth place runner, Babb, spun out in turn three. The top five after the restart consisted of Bloomquist, Owens, Landers, McCool, and Steve Francis.

By lap 36, Landers had made his way around Owens and was alongside Bloomquist for the lead, but Bloomquist soon motored away from Landers and the remainder of the field. Over the next several laps Bloomquist built a straightaway lead over the pack, as the top five running order remained the same.
Ray Cook at Batesville Speedway Ray Cook rolled his #53 car just before rain forced Saturday's remaining 88 laps to be postponed until Sunday. (Ron Mitchell)
A series of cautions had little effect on the running order amongst the leaders until McCool relinquished the fifth position on lap 74 as his right rear tire went down to bring out the final caution of the event. As Bloomquist continued to maintain a sizeable lead, the battle for the second spot began again to intensify, and Owens used lapped traffic to his advantage to move past

Jimmy Owens at Batesville Speedway

 Jimmy Owens (20) tracked Scott Bloomquist in second at the finish line on Sunday. (Ron Mitchell)

Landers for second on lap 89. Over the course of the next six laps, drama began to build as Owens erased Bloomquist’ straightaway lead. He trailed the leader by only one car length at the flag stand with five laps to go, but despite espite his best efforts, Owens was unable to overtake Bloomquist.
With Bloomquist’s tenth tour triumph of the 2011 season,Owens saw his lead in the LOLMDS standings trimmed to 140 points
Wendell Wallace at Batesville Speedway

Wendell Wallace won his heat race and put in a tenth place showing at Batesville. (Ron Mitchell)

Batesville Speedway Topless 100

1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Jimmy Owens, 3) Jared Landers, 4) Steve Francis, 5) Tyler Reddick, 6) John Blankenship, 7) Earl Pearson, Jr. (prov.), 8) Jonathan Davenport, 9) Steve Casebolt, 10) Wendell Wallace, 11) Jack Sullivan, 12) Eric Wells, 13) Dale McDowell, 14) Bub McCool, 15) Brad Neat (prov.), 16) Robbie Stuart, 17) Frank Heckenast, Jr. (prov.), 18) Billy Moyer, Jr., 19) Jesse Stovall, 20) Jeremy Payne, 21) Shannon Babb, 22) Billy Moyer, 23) Terry Phillips, 24) Ray Cook, 25) Don O'Neal
Fast Time (55 entries): Reddick (13.869); Heat winners: Wells, Bloomquist, Owens, O’Neal, Babb, Wallace.

Mark Bochiardy photo


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box