- Aug. 20 - Pennsylvania's Pa. Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Davey Johnson at PPMS UFO/ULMS

Pennsylvania veteran Davey Johnson races toward a $4,159 win in Saturday's UFO/ULMS sanctioned "Red Miley Rumble" at Pennsylvania's Pa. Motor Speedway. (Todd Battin)
UFO/ULMS: Johnson Routs "Red Miley Rumble" at PPMS

track report

PITTSBURGH, Pa. - Aug. 20. Greensburg Pa.'s Davey Johnson won his third feature of the season and third UFO/ULMS feature at PPMS this year in the fifth annual "Red Miley Rumble" on Saturday.

Launching one of the most competitive races this year at PPMS, Alex Ferree and Michael Norris brought the 32-car field down for the green. Norris grabbed the lead a big wreck in turn four collected Ben Miley, Dylan Yoder, Chad McClellan, Leo Stadelman, and several others. Miley, McClelland and Stadelman did not return.

Brandon Burgoon and Michael Davis at PPMS

Brandon Burgoon rallied from an early flat tire to challenge #7m Michael Davis for third late in the race. (Todd Battin)

Norris grabbed the lead on the restart and led until lap eight when caution appeared for Jared Miley, who spun in turns one and two. On the restart, Ferree grabbed the top spot, but pitted with overheating problems under a caution that flew when Brandon Burgoon pitted to recplace a flat tire.

That gave the lead back to Norris, with Jophnson second over Daryl Charlier, Mike Davis and Steve Baker. Another spin by Miley sent him to the pits for the night on lap 22, and on lap 25, fifth running Baker slowed and pitted to chan ge a flat tire. This restart was Norris' undoing, as Johnson grabbed the lead.

Michael Norris and Davey Johnson at PPMS

Early leader Michel Norris (72) gives chase as Davey Johnson races toward a $4,159 win in Saturday's UFO/ULMS sanctioned "Red Miley Rumble" at Pennsylvania's Pa. Motor Speedway. Norris finished second. (Todd Battin)

Steve Baker and Lynn Geisler at PPMS

Steve Baker (0) battles #1 Lynn Geisler on his way back to fifth place after suffering a flat tire early on. (Todd Battin)

On lap 27, UFO point leader Devin Friese and Jim Lepro tangled on the front straight, and lap 30 saw Charlier stop on the front straight with a flat under the flag stand, which ended up being a close call for John Garvin and Steve Baker, who were charging full tilt off turn four just as the caution came out. Both swerved, but Baker tapped Charlier, tearing up his rear fender, but kept going. Charlier did not return.

Johnson again grabbed the lead at the start and led the rest of the way. Norris ended up a solid second, followed by PPMS point leader Davis, Burgoon, who rallied from the rear to fourth, and Baker.

Mike Johnson and Jim Lepro at PPMS

Mike Johnson rolls under #6 Jim Lepro before finishing sixth at PPMS. (Todd Battin)

UFO/ULMS Red Miley Rumble at PPMS
1) Davey Johnson, 2) Michael Norris, 3) Michael Davis, 4) Brandon Burgoon, 5) Steve Baker, 6) Mike Johnson, 7) Lynn Geisler, 8) John Mollick, 9) John Garvin Jr., 10) Jim Stephans, 11) Devon Friese, 12) Dennis Lunger, 13) Boom Briggs, 14) Brandon Wearing, 15) Mark Banal, 16) Quintin Wyandt, 17) Keith Barbara, 18) Kari Gasser, 19) Matt Dobnak, 20) Daryl Charlier, 21) Jim Lepro, 22) Jason Fosnaught, 23) Jared Miley, 24) Mike Basich, 25) Jason Rider, 26) Alex Ferree, 27) Tommy Beck, 28) Dylan Yoder, 29) Kyle Lukon, 30) Chad McClellan, 31) Leo Stadelman, 32) Ben Miley
Heat winners (34 entries): Miley, D. Johnson, Friese, Ferree; B-Main winner: Barbara.

Todd Battin photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box