- Aug. 15 - Charlotte Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Fastrak: Davenport Claims DT at Charlotte Special

Track report

CONCORD, N.C. - Aug. 15. Jonathan Davenport took home his second win at The Dirt Track at Charlotte with a victory in Sunday’s postponed FASTRAK Late Model Series race.

After running just eight laps of the 30-lap feature Saturday night, speedway officials were forced to postpone the remaining 22 laps until Sunday afternoon due to inclement weather.

Saturday night, Davenport started on the outside of row two in the fourth position and quickly made his way to second place in just one lap. The Blairsville, Ga., native remained in second until Lap 8, when heavy rain forced track activity to cease for the evening.

Restarting the feature in second place Sunday afternoon, Davenport didn’t waste any time getting out front, as he took the point position from leader Jimmy Schiltz exiting Turn 1 on Lap 9. Davenport continued to lead until a Lap 19 restart, due to an eight-car pileup in Turn 1, allowed second place Schiltz to close ground and regain the lead going into Turn 3. Schiltz was able to hold off Davenport for the next seven laps before Davenport drove his car to the high side on Lap 25, again overtaking Schiltz for the point position.

After regaining the top spot, Davenport never looked back, leading the remaining five laps en route to his victory at the four-tenths-mile clay oval, taking home the $2,000 top prize. Schiltz, of Hickory, N.C., held on to finish second and John Henderson, of Aiken, S.C., crossed the stripe in third place.

“It sure wasn’t easy to win with these guys I was racing against,” exclaimed Davenport. “Schiltz is one of my best friends in the Carolinas and we just ran each other clean. It was a lot of fun and I had to show him my car was the fastest. Once I got back around him [Schiltz] the clean air helped me keep the nose down and being out front was the ticket.” 

FASTRAK Late Model Series - Charlotte Motor Speedway

1. Jonathan Davenport; 2. Jimmy Schiltz; 3. John Henderson; 4. Eric Cooley; 5. Robbie Stevens; 6. Timbo Mangum; 7. Brandon Overton; 8. John Pohlman; 9. Dan Breuer; 10. Royce Bray; 11. Steve Cooke; 12. Owen Osteen; 13. David Green; 14. Doug Sanders; 15. Aaron Barley; 16. David Smith; 17. Blake Bentley; 18. Albert Cosnahan; 19. Matt Long; 20. Chris Cantrell; 21. Adam Yarborough; 22. Ron Parker; 23. Anthony Sanders; 24. Ryan Atkins.

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine