- Aug. 14 - Junction Motor Speedway (NCRA) by Sam Holbrooks


Kelly Boen - King of the Hill Shootout winner 

Lloyd Collins photo

MLRA/NCRA: Boen Completes "King of the Hill" Sweep at JMS

Dan Robinson and David Smith, Jr.

MCCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. - Aug. 14.On the 27th anniversary of Kelly Boen's
first career feature win, the Hnderson, Colorado driver became a back-to-back winner of the "King of the Hill Late Model Showdown" Saturday at McCool Junction, Nebraska.

Since 2004, there have been 20 Late Model races contested at Junction Motor Speedway, and Boen has won 11 of those. Starting on the inside of row two, Boen quickly found the front on a slick and smooth surface. Republic, Missouri's
Brad Looney looked strong late in the race and was running second with five
laps to go when his engine expired. John Anderson, running a new MasterSbilt
chassis, was consistent all weekend and finished second.

Kyle Berck, fresh off winning the evening's modified feature, started on the inside of row three and came to the checkers in third.

Mike Wiarda started on the pole for the 35 lap feature, but it was third starting Boen who quickly jumped out into the lead. Anderson overtook Wiarda for the runner up position and kept pace with Boen, the career O’Reilly/NCRA late model feature winner with 54 career victories, but could never get around and settled for his second consecutive runner up finish.

Wiarda was running third when he jumped the cushion, bringing out a yellow ten laps into the race. A few laps later, going into turn three, a multi-car incident brought out a red flag. Andrew Kosiski was among those involved and flipped his car before walking away from the wreck.

Boen drives a Rocket chassis with a Cornett Engine. Sponsorship support for the #07 comes from Road Runner Fabrication and Peterson Fluid Systems.

Aug. 14 - MLRA/NCRA - Junction Motor Speedway
1. Kelly Boen, 2. John Anderson, 3. Kyle Berck, 4. Travis Dickes, 5. Al Purkey, 6. Jason O'Brien, 7. Joe Kosiski, 8. Chris Spieker, 9. Bryant Goldsmith, 10. Delbert Smith. 11. Jerry Warner. 12. Dave Eckrich, 13. J.D. Hubert, 14. Jase Kaser, 15. Billy Koons, Jr., 16. Dean Moore, 17. Bill Koons, 18. Brad Looney, 19. Mike Wiarda, 20. Corey Zeitner, 21. Justin Asplin, 22. Dustin Hapka, 23. Andrew Kosiski, 24. Al Humphrey.
Heat winners (32 entries): Boen, Anderson, Wiarda, Looney; B Feature winners: Dave Eckrich, Koons.

Ron Mitchell photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine