- Aug. 11 - Redwood Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Cornbelt Clash: Utter earns second series win with Redwood Speedway victory 

Ryan Clark

REDWOOD FALLS, Minn. - Aug. 11. Jason Utter led all 35 laps to earn his second career win in the Dart Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series presented by Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants as the tour made its first-ever stop at Redwood Speedway.

Utter, who finished third in the Fast Dash, started on the pole after Chris Simpson drew the number "3" at the scales following his Dash win, to invert the top three Dash finishers. At the drop of the green, Utter assumed command with Simpson in tow. Chad Simpson, who started fifth, chased the leaders to the front of the pack as he tried to keep pace. He was running a solid third when he jumped the cushion on the 11th lap, sending his #25 into the turn one wall, ending his night and resulting in his first series finish this season outside of the top five.

On the restart, Utter again took charge as he masterfully worked the high groove of the half-mile oval. He and Chris Simpson started to pull away from the field during the event's longest green flag run. Utter encountered lapped traffic on the 20th circuit as Simpson worked to keep the leader in his sights. He was given one last opportunity to challenge for the lead when the caution flag waved one final time with nine laps to go.

When racing resumed, Simpson powered to the low side of the speedway to challenge for the lead. He slid up in turns one and two, which allowed third-running Tim Isenberg to sneak to his inside as the pair exited turn two. Isenberg wrestled second place away as the leaders made their way down the back chute, however Utter proved to be too dominant on the top side as he drove to the convincing win. It was Utter's first win since July 1 at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb.

Andrew McKay earned Hooker Harness Hard Charger honors by finishing fourth after his seventh place start. Chris Simpson and Rick Schroeder were heat winners. 

Cornbelt Clash: Redwood Speedway
1) Jason Utter, 2) Tim Isenberg, 3) Chris Simpson, 4) Andrew McKay, 5) Jill George, 6) Dennis Hillson, 7) Rick Goth, 8) Dustin Virkus, 9) Clarence Washburn, 10) Chad Simpson, 11) Rick Schroeder, 12) Seth Brede.
Heat winners: Chris Simpson, Schroeder; Fast Dash: Chris Simpson

Mike Ruefer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box