- Aug.7 - I-30 Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


MSRA: Moore Tops Mid-South's Best For I-30 Win

Ben Shelton

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – Aug. 7. Ray Moore of Shreveport, La. powered his #93 Moore Wireline/Mars Chassis to the COMP Cams MSRA Late Model win on Saturday at I-30 Speedway, but the win would be far from easy as he would receive furious challenges throughout the event.

Moore, who is a multi-time winner during his career on the tour, entered his second event of the season with the tour on Saturday, and his efforts were rewarded as he topped the 24-car field in the feature event.

Jeff Floyd was the JFR Graphics Pole Qualifier for the 40-lap feature,  joined on the front row by Moore.  As the race went green Moore bolted to the lead as Billy Moyer, Jr. and Wendell Wallace moved to second and third, respectively. 

During the race’s early stages, Moyer would make several bids for the lead, but could not complete the pass.  As Moyer worked on Moore for the lead, Wallace joined the battle and would find his way past Moyer for second. 

During the early stages of the event, a few caution flags would slow the action, one of which came on lap 19 as Kyle Beard relinquished the fourth spot to mechanical issues.  Beard was done for the night and saw his points lead vanquish as Frye took over that position.

The lap 19 restart would prove to the final of the night as Moore continued to hold a tight advantage at the front of the pack as three and even some four wide racing ensued throughout.  As the race went past the halfway mark the top five running order was Moore, Wallace, Moyer, Jon Mitchell, and Frye, who had used the high line in turns one and two to pass several competitors.

Other drivers were making their own impressive drives from deep in the pack as provisional starter, Joey Mack, worked his way to the 10th position, while Terry Henson also came from deep in the field up to ninth.

Late in the race, Wallace staged an attack against Moore, but his advances fell short as Moore claimed the win over Wallace, Moyer Jr., Mitchell, and Frye.

Prior to the start of the feature, Wade Johnson, who had qualified via heat race action, was unable to fire and did not get to start the main event.

Mack was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger as he worked his way from 19th to 10th.

Via his third place finish, Billy Moyer Jr. padded his advantage in the RiceTec Summer Showdown.  The final event in the program will be held on August 27th at Beebe Speedway (Beebe, AR).

Aug. 7 - MSRA - I-30 Speedway

1. Ray Moore, 2. Wendell Wallace, 3. Billy Moyer, Jr., 4. Jon Mitchell, 5. Bill Frye, 6. Shane Harris, 7. Jon Kirby, 8. Jamie Dacus, 9. Terry Henson, 10. Joey Mack (prov.), 11. Jeff Floyd, 12. Brandon Smith (prov.), 13. Kevin Sitton, 14. Curtis Cook, 15. Dewaine Hottinger, 16. Jeff Sloan, 17. Robbie Starnes, 18. Thomas Dacus, 19. Kyle Beard.


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine