- Aug.14 - Greenville Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


PRO: Baggett Claims First PRO Dirtcar Win At Greenville

Ben Shelton (

GREENVILLE, Miss. – Aug. 14.  The 2010 season to date has been a frustrating one for Neil Baggett from Shannon, Mississippi, who struggled early in the year before parting ways with his car owner. However, the past month saw Baggett make a return to the track, and in just his third night in his new #21 Victory Circle Chassis, he powered his way to the $3,000 PRO Dirt Car Series feature win at Greenville Speedway on Saturday night.

With the biggest purse of the year on the line for the PRO Dirt Car Series, 29 teams from five states entered the "Topless 50", and via Southern Belle qualifying, local favorite Ross Camponovo blazed to the fastest time of the night to earn the pole position. He was to be joined on the front row by Eddie Rickman, but Rickman was in a team car to Dean Carpenter, and after Carpenter had to scratch from the program with mechanical woes, Rickman relinquished his car and starting spot so that Carpenter could use a provisional to start the main event. With Rickman scratching from the feature, Rick Rickman moved up to the outside front row starting spot.

On the initial green Camponovo jumped to the lead over Chad Washington and Rickman, but before a lap could be completed the caution waved for a spun Henry Cooper. With a double file restart, Rickman jumped to the lead with Camponovo, Greg Fore, Washington, and Jeremy Glasgow in tow. Rickman led the first lap, but Camponovo jumped to the lead on the second circuit.

With Camponovo out front, Rickman, Fore, and Brian Rickman diced for the second spot on lap ten. Two laps later, Camponovo was mired in heavy lap traffic, and Rick Rickman bolt back into the lead. During the course of the next lap, Camponovo slipped all the way back to fourth as Brian Rickman moved up to second.

The event’s second caution waved on lap 16 as Dwight Falcon spun, and at the time of the caution the top five running order consisted of Rick Rickman, Brian Rickman, David Breazeale, Camponovo, and Dane Dacus. On the restart, Brian Rickman used a strong run to pull alongside his brother, Rick, for the lead, and one lap later Brian Rickman took over the top spot.

The next few laps would see several cautions slow the event, and on a lap 20 restart, seventh starting Baggett started to make noise as he cracked the top five and began working his way to the front.

A lap 27 restart was a key turning point in the event as Baggett and Rick Rickman made contact entering turn one, causing Baggett to spin in front of the field as several cars piled up in the melee. Rickman was credited with the caution and Baggett retained his position. As the field lined up to go green once again Brian Rickman led the way with Baggett, Dacus, Breazeale, and 12th starting Kyle Beard rounding out the top five.

One lap after the race restarted, Dacus was working the low side in turns three and four when he tagged an infield tire, bringing his night to a disappointing end. As Dacus was towed back to the pit area, the field prepared for a restart, but the caution would wave again as Ray Mauldin got into the back of Rick Rickman.

With those two drivers pitside, the field lined up for the final restart of the night as Brian Rickman once again jumped to a comfortable lead with Baggett, Breazeale, and Beard in tow. Rickman began to develop a push with ten laps to go as Baggett closed in on the leader. The pair staged a furious battle for the top spot for the next several laps before Baggett took the lead coming to the white flag. He would go on to lead the final lap to take the $3,000 win over Rick Rickman, Kyle Beard, David Breazeale, and Chad Washington.

Aug. 14 - PRO Dirt Car Series - Greenville Speedway
1) Neil Baggett, 2) Brian Rickman, 3) Kyle Beard, 4) David Breazeale, 5) Chad Washington, 6) Greg Fore, 7) Mark Dodson, 8) Dean Carpenter, 9) Dewayne Estes, 10) Jeremy Glasgow, 11) Hunter Carroll, 12) Jason Milam, 13) Leon Henderson, 14) Dwight Falcon, 15) Ross Camponovo, 16) Ray Mauldin, 17) Rick Rickman, 18) Chase Washington, 19) Dane Dacus, 20) Bo Gordon, 21) Clay Fisher, 22) Henry Cooper, 23) Bradley Price, 24) Jamie Tollison. Entries: 29


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine