- Apr 10 - 34 Raceway by Sam Holbrooks

Mark Burgtorf
Mark Burgtorf after his "Slocum 50" win at 34 Raceway. (John Vass)
Burgtorf Battles Beuseling For Deery Series Opener Win at 34
By Bill Martin
WEST BURLINGTON, Ia. - April 10. Mark Burgtorf has made a habit of winning Deery Brothers Summer Series features at 34 Raceway. His Saturday victory was another one for the IMCA Late Model tour record book. 
Burgtorf finally got the edge over Nate Beuseling following a lengthy side-by-side battle, to take opening night honors for the 24th annual series. The three-time tour champion earned $3,000 for the West Burlington victory, his circuit career 23rd and seventh at 34.
Matt Strassheim - Todd Malmstrum
Matt Strassheim and #75 Todd Malmstrom argue over who should follow and who should lead during the Deery Brothers Summer Series opener. (John Vass)
He’s now the only driver in series history to have won seven times at two different tracks, owning the same number of tro­phies from his hometown Quincy Raceway. 
Beuseling’s runner-up finish was the best of his brief Deery career. He’d run sixth last summer at Knoxville. Rob Toland passed the most cars in his heat and “B” feature to get the hard charger provisional, then passed 19 more cars to finish third. 
Tom Goble and Matt Strassheim rounded out the top five. 
Ryan Giles took the initial green from outside the front row and led the first three laps before the fourth start­ing Beuseling drove by. 
Burgtorf made his way from the ninth starting spot and chased Beuseling into lapped traffic. He was on the leader’s back bumper when the only caution of the 50-lapper came out right at midway, then took the lead briefly on the 32nd circuit. 
Beuseling was back in front when the next lap was scored. The front pair went back and forth, Burgtorf on the inside and faster in the first set of turns, Beuseling higher up and faster coming out of the second set. Burgtorf was finally able to make what proved to be the winning pass on lap 40, crossing the stripe two car lengths in front of Beuseling. 
Mark Burgtorf - Nate Beuseling
Nate Beuseling gives way to #7 Mark Burgtorf, winner of the first two Deery Brothers at 34 Raceway and Quincy Raceways. (Chris Damitz)
Defending champion Jeff Aikey made the main event by winning his “B” and finished 18th. 2009 runner-up Jason Frankel had won both Deery races at West Burlington last year but had to take a provisional to get in the starting grid, ending in 12th. 
Sixty-four Late Models were entered at 34. The second annual Slocum 50 was held in memory of local track champion and Deery regular Brenton Slocum and a portion of the proceeds from ticket sales went to the scholarship fund in his name benefiting area high school students. 
Todd Malmstrom took home the $250 Sunoco bonus. 
Finish - 34 Raceway - Deery Bros


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine