- Apr. 9 - Brownstown Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Scott Bloomquist VL Brownstown Indiana Icebreaker
Lucas Oil: Bloomquist Sails to "Icebreaker" Win at Brownstown
James Essex
BROWNSTOWN, Ind. – April 9. Scott Bloomquist passed Steve Francis on lap eight and went on to lead the rest of the way in capturing the 14th annual "Indiana Icebreaker" for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Saturday at
Don O'Neal (right) with Ray Cook before O'Neal raced to second on one of his "home" tracks. (Rick Schwallie)
Brownstown Speedway.  Bloomquist, who won his 500th career feature race last September at Brownstown, earned $10,000 for the win. Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind. finished second as he held off 18th starting Earl Pearson, Jr. for the runner-up spot. 
In victory lane Bloomquist gave thanks and to his pit crew and the track preparers at Brownstown, after the event was held despite nearly two inches of rain which fell earlier in the day. “The car was superb out there tonight, you could run anywhere, we went with the Chevrolet powered Roush-Yates engine tonight and it didn’t miss a beat, this was a brand new car, we’ve always enjoyed coming up here to race, and with all the rain they had I didn’t know how it would turn out, but it was racy all night, we had a good race there with Francis for a while, and I was hoping there wouldn’t be any cautions the way we were running, we handled traffic pretty well, and everybody gave each other plenty of room,” said Bloomquist.  

Scott Bloomquist - Steve Francis - Brownstown Icebreaker

Scott Bloomquist scoots underneath Steve Francis on lap eight of the "Indiana Icebreaker" at Brownstown Speedway. (Rick Schwallie)  

Ray Cook - Dale McDowell - Brian Birkhofer - Jimmy Owens
As he advances toward fourth place, #15 Brian Birkhofer leads a tight pack that includes #53 Ray Cook, Dale McDowell, and Jimmy Owens. (Rick Schwallie) 
Bub McCool started on the pole and led the first two laps until Steve Francis took over the point. Francis held the lead for five circuits, until Bloomquist, who started third grabbed the lead using the inside line of the race track. Francis ran second just ahead of Mike Marlar for several laps until Marlar took second on lap 18. O’Neal then charged to the front passing both Francis and Marlar as he grabbed the second slot on lap 20.
Shannon Babb - Steve Casebolt - Greg Johnson - Joe Janowski
Four-wide racing with #18 Shannon Babb, #c9 Steve Casebolt, Greg Johnson, and Joe Janowski. (Rick Schwallie)
Bloomquist had built a sizable lead over O’Neal and Marlar. With twenty laps to go, he was firmly in command of the race. Bloomquist then started to pick-up heavy traffic, allowing both O’Neal and Earl Pearson Jr., who was on the move after starting on the outside of the ninth row.
O’Neal and Pearson had quite a battle for second for the remainder of the race. O’Neal was able to edge Pearson at the finish line for second place.
Scott Bloomquist - Tyler Reddick - Brownstown Speedway 
Scott Bloomquist and Tyler Reddick talk tires at Brownstown. (Rick Schwallie)
Lucas Oil Series - Brownstown Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Don O'Neal, 3) Earl Pearson, Jr., 4) Brian Birkhofer, 5) Jimmy Owens, 6) Mike Marlar, 7) Bub McCool, 8) Brad Neat, 9) Dale McDowell, 10) Chris Wall, 11) Ray Cook, 12) Dennis Erb, Jr., 13) Steve Francis, 14) Shannon Babb, 15) John Blankenship, 16) Jared Landers, 17) Scott James, 18) Tim Isenberg (prov.), 19) Steve Casebolt (prov.), 20) Dillan White, 21) Greg Johnson, 22) Dan Schlieper (prov.), 23) Tyler Reddick (prov.), 24) Eric Wells, 25) Joe Janowski, 26) Brent Robinson, 27) Dustin Neat
Fast Time (49 entries): Rohn Moon / 14.264; Heat winners: McCool, Bloomquist, Francis, O’Neal; B-Main Winners: Blankenship, Pearson.

Rick Schwallie photo



Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box