- Apr. 9 - 34 Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


Matt Ryan - 34 Raceway

Matt Ryan races to Saturday's Deery Brothers Summer Series win at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Ia. (Mike Ruefer) 

IMCA Deery Brothers: "Slocum 50" Checkers Fly for First-time winner Ryan

Bill Martin

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa - April 9. A veteran of the Deery Brothers Summer Series got his first feature win trophy, and a big check, Saturday at 34 Raceway.    

Matt Ryan at 34 Raceway after his first career IMCA Deery Bros. win. (Mike Ruefer)
Matt Ryan led the last 10 laps in winning the "Slocum 50" IMCA Late Model tour feature at West Burlington. He inherited the front spot after Denny Woodworth was forced to pit with a flat tire, then held off a late charge by Boone McLaughlin to take the $3,000 checkers by a margin meas­ured in inches.

Defending race winner Mark Burgtorf earned the hard charger starting spot by passing the most cars in his heat and “B” feature, then moved up 19 positions to finish third in the main event.

Terry Neal was fourth and provisional starter Tom Darbyshire advanced 18 spots to complete the top five.

Woodworth started on the pole and led early in the caution-slowed contest, giving way to the fifth starting Rob Toland before regaining the point and staying there through a myriad of restarts.

Ryan and McLaughlin, meanwhile, swapped second several times. Ryan held the position when Woodworth cut his right rear tire and left the track. McLaughlin challenged the last three circuits, making his bid coming out of the final turn but coming up just short.

Todd Malmstrom - Rob Toland - 34 Raceway

Todd Malmstrom and #39 Rob Toland duke it out at 34 Raceway. (Mike Ruefer)

A non-qualifier in the series opener last weekend at Dubuque, Ryan’s previous best finish in 45 career feature starts was a runner-up showing on the asphalt at Hawkeye Downs in 2008. He ran third at Jackson County Speedway in 2009.

The grandstand was at near capacity for the third annual event, held in memory of late local driver Brent Slocum. One dollar from each adult ticket sold for the stands was donated to a scholarship fund benefitting area high school seniors.

Mike Murphy Jr. won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

Quincy is the third of 19 races on the schedule for the 25th anniversary series. 

Deery Brothers - 34 Raceway
1) Matt Ryan, 2) Boone McLaughlin, 3) Mark Burgtorf, 4) Terry Neal, 5) Tom Darbyshire, 6) Matt Strassheim, 7) Colby Springsteen, 8) Tyler Bruening, 9) Justin Reed, 10) Jason Cook, 11) Denny Woodworth, 12) Todd Malmstrom, 13) Brian Harris, 14) Andy Eckrich, 15) Rob Toland, 16) Ray Guss, Jr., 17) Matt Bailey, 18) Nate Beuseling, 19) Sam Halstead,20) Dan Shelliam, 21) Tom Goble, 22) Keith Pratt, 23) Billy Tuckwell, 24) Mike Murphy, Jr.
Heat winners: Ryan, Springsteen

Mike Ruefer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box