- Apr. 8 - Heartland Park Topeka by Sam Holbrooks


Brad Looney VL1 HPT


Brad Looney ttok his second checkered flag in as many weeks at Heartland Park Topeka on April 8th. (Lloyd Collins)


MLRA: Looney Two For Two on New Season with Topeka Win


Ashley Berry


TOPEKA, Kan. - April 8. After leading last week's "Spring Meltdown" from start to finish at I-80 Speedway, Brad Looney Brad landed in the Lucas Oil MLRA Victory Lane for the second time in 2011 after leading all but one lap of Friday's MLRA even at Heartland Park Topeka.


Jackson - Simpson - Phillips

Tony Jackson Jr. (56) races three-wide with #32 Chris Simpson and #75 Terry Phillips before racing to fifth at HRP, one position ahead of Phillips at the line. (Lloyd Collins)


Looney won his heat race to start the feature on the pole, but the Republic, Mo. driver did not breeze into victory lane. Four yellow flags in four laps slowed the pace at first, but the final 31 laps were contested caution free. John Anderson made a charge off of turn two late in the race on Looney's high side and briefly took the lead. Looney then changed his line and battled back to the front.


Whitwell, Purkey, Stovall

Al Purkey (33) ultimately got by #00 Jesse Stovall to finish third, while young Arizona racer R.C. Whitwell (96) continues to impress with his seventh place run. (Lloyd Collins)


The action was feverish between Al Purkey, who was the night's KRC Hard Charger after advancing from 18th to third, and Jesse Stovall, Terry Phillips, Tony Jackson Jr., and R.C. Whitwell. These five were several lengths back from the top two cars, but battled for the duration in and around lapped traffic.



MLRA - Heartland Park Topeka
1) Brad Looney, 2) John Anderson, 3) Al Purkey, 4) Jesse Stovall, 5) Tony Jackson, Jr., 6) Terry Phillips, 7) R.C. Whitwell, 8) Denny Eckrich, 9) David Turner, 10) Kyle Berck, 11) Nick Marolf, 12) Jason Pursley, 13) Jason O'Brien, 14) Dave Eckrich (prov.), 15) Joe Kosiski (prov.), 16) Bill Koons, 17) Alan Vaughn, 18) Corey Zeitner, 19) Chris Simpson, 20) Jeremy Payne, 21) Al Humphrey, 22) Chad Simpson, 23) Delbert Smith, 24) Matt Furman.
Heat winners (41 entries): Phillips, Looney, Chris Simpson, Whitwell, Anderson; B-Main winners: Koons, Purkey.

Lloyd Collins photo



Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box