- Apr. 3 - Tazewell Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


David Webb - Billy Ogle Jr - Tazewell Speedway NASRA

Local standout Billy Ogle, Jr. races #13 David Webb before surviving for a fourth place finish at Tazewell Speedway.  Webb was unable to complete the laps and settled for 14th. (Allen Earl)


NASRA: Hill Prevails as Tazewell Opens with "Trammell Memorial 40"


Allen Earl  


TAZEWELL, Tenn. - April 3. For the second year in a row, the National All Star Racing Association (NASRA) Late Models rolled into Tazewell to open the season. Vic Hill, of Mosheim, Tenn., raced to his first win of the year in the event that was moved from Saturday to Sunday after a rainy week caused some agonizingly slow track preparation.


Michael Chilton - Steve Smith - Tazewell Speedway NASRA

A torrid, fender-rubbing  battle for second between #97 Michael Chilton and #3 Steve Smith. (Allen Earl)


Leading the 21-car pack to the green were heat winners Hill and Chip Brindle. Hill blasted out to the point, followed by Brindle and Steve Smith. On lap six, the yellow flag was displayed after Chris Streevel made contact with the turn one outside wall, nearly turning over. Up to that point, fast qualifier Jason Trammell was one of the few that was passing others early on as he began his march to the front.  


Chris Streeval - Billy Ogle - Tazewell Speedway NASRA  


While Vic Hill captured Sunday's season opening NASRA event at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway, #30 Chris Streeval couldn't buy any luck on the ultra-fast track, first tangling with #4T Tommy Kerr in his heat race, then (below) tackling the outside wall on lap six of the feature event. (Allen Earl photos)





Chris Streeval - Tazewell Speedway NASRA 


When the race resumed, lap13 saw Hill dealing with lap traffic, but with a half lap lead through lap 22, when Brindle’s car began smoking and he fell off the pace, then came to a stop. Ronnie Johnson, Michael Chilton, and Billy Ogle, Jr. had been putting on a good battle for third through fifth until the iinterrption.


On the restart it was Hill, Smith and Chilton in the top three. Only 11 cars remained when Brian Smith had a problem and had to leave the racing action on lap 28. Hill once again ran away and took home the feature win as the top three stayed the same. 


Vic Hill VL - Tazewell Speedway

Vic Hill at Tazewell. (Allen Earl)



NASRA - Tazewell Speedway
(1) Vic Hill (2) Steve Smith (3) Michael Chilton (4) Billy Ogle, Jr. (5) Ronnie Johnson (6) Tommy Kerr (7) Mike Weeks (8) Jeff Wolfenbarger (9) Chad Ogle (10) Rohn Moon (11) Christian Rayburn (12) Brian Smith (13) Travis Fultz (14) David Webb (15) Chip Brindle (16) Jason Trammell (17) Brad Hall (18) Greg Estes (19) Jeff Maupin (20) Chris Streeval (21) Phillip Nichols (22) Arnie Fields (23) Keaton Streeval (24) J. Allan
Fast Time (24 entries): Trammell (12.322 secs.); Heat winners: Smith, Brindle, Chilton, Hill.

Michael Moats photo 


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box