- Apr. 30 - Lancaster Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Lancaster Speedway - Johnny Pursley VL

Johnny Pursley after a Dominant Run in Carolina Clash action at Lancaster Speedway. (Johnny Sims) 

Carolina Clash: Pursley Sails to Clash Win at Lancaster

By: Alex Cummings

LANCASTER, S.C. - April 30. Johnny Pursley cruised to victory at Lancaster Motor Speedway Saturday, beating out a stout field of 34 for the $4,000 to win Carolina Clash feature event. Pursley set fast time with a blistering fast time of 18.702, then lead every lap of the feature.

Before the feature event even took the green flag, current series points leader Luke Roffers had trouble pulling behind the wall with motor problems. As the cars came to the green, a major five car pileup right before the start-finish line collected Scott Autry, Travis Yow, Chad Paxton, Jimmy McCormick, and David Taylor. Both Autry and Taylor were unable to continue.

Lap 15 saw three cars come pitside with flat tires including Paxton, McCormick, who pitted for the night, and Mike Gault. On the restart, Pursley led while Dennis Franklin and Benji Cole were running second and third, battling hot and heavy as they passed each other high and low, with one slide job after another.

Chris Ferguson suffered a flat right rear tire on lap 22, bringing out another caution while running in the sixth position, and just five laps later, fourth running Ray Tucker slowed and retired from the race. Not even five time Carolina Clash Champion, Ricky Weeks, was immune to mechanical failure. While running in the seventh position on lap 29, he slowed and pulled behind the wall.

The final caution came out on lap 30 when Benji Cole, who was pressuring leader Pursley, also broked down. This would set up a 10 lap dash for the cash with Pursley on point, followed by Franklin, but Pursley was able to motor away to a three length victory over Franklin. Jeff Smith took third over Petey Ivey and Kennie Compton, Jr.

Lancaster Speedway - Carolina Clash
1) Johnny Pursley, 2) Dennis Franklin, 3) Jeff Smith, 4) Petey Ivey, 5) Kenny Compton, 6) Mike Gault, 7) Tim Allen, 8) Ross Bailes, 9) Dustin Mitchell, 10) Chris Ferguson, 11) Mike Huey, 12) Robbie Bailey, 13) Jay Sessoms, 14) Benji Cole, 15) Ricky Weeks, 16) Ray Tucker, 17) Randy Smith, 18) Chad Paxton, 19) Craig Shuffield, 20) Travis Yow, 21) Jimmy McCormick, 22) Scott Autry, 23) David Taylor, 24) Luke Roffers.
Fast Time (34 entries): Pursley; Heat winners: Ivey, Paxton; B-Main winners: Allen.

George Missita photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box