- Apr. 30 - K-C Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


O'Reilly All Stars: Carrier Runs the Table at K-C Raceway

Scott Wolfe

CHILLICOTHE, Oh. - April 30. In the third annual 40-lap $4,000-to-win event for the O’Reilly Auto Parts All Star Late Models, the "Salt Rock Express", Eddie Carrier Jr., of Salt Rock, W. Va., blitzed the field for the victory.

“I drew that eight (pill) and thought ‘oh no…my job just got harder.’ We’ve had some bad luck lately, so maybe this will turn it around. We will just keep digging and working harder and see what happens. It’s good to be here in victory lane,” said an elated Carrier who has had a series of double-digit wins over the past eight years at KC Raceway.

The evening began when Donnie Moran came with thirteen-hundredths of Jackie Boggs' 10-year-old track record during qualifications. Numerous other cars timed in the mid-13 second bracket as the cool afternoon locked down moisture early on the fast 3/8 mile speed plant.

Pinconning, Michigan’s Jeep Van Wormer led the late model field to the green with Matt Miller to his outside. Van Wormer blasted into the lead ahead of Miller and Zach Dohm. Meanwhile, Duane Chamberlain grabbed everyone’s attention with his high-flying machine as he grabbed second on lap six. Eighth place starter Carrier quickly stormed up to fourth.

A caution for Josh McGuire on lap eight bunched up the field for the Delaware-style restart. This allowed Carrier to storm into third. Meanwhile Mark Frazier, Jason Montgomery, and R.J. Conley battled hard for fifth place.

VanWormer caught lapped traffic by the 16th circuit as Chamberlain and Carrier continued their tremendous battle for second.

Van Wormer’s run at the top would end on lap 17. During a caution for a stalled Chad Smith, the leader exited the speedway with mechanical problems, handing the lead to Richmond, Indiana’s Chamberlain.

But, Chamberlain’s lead wouldn’t last long. On the restart, Carrier won the drag race into the first corner to take the lead while Jason Montgomery leap-frogged two spots into fourth.

R.J. Conley, Mark Frazier, and Boom Briggs came together on lap 20, sending Frazier helplessly down the front chute backwards. The rest of the field continued in evasive fashion, setting up the third restart. Chamberlain suffered a flat during caution and did not return.

Montgomery stalked Carrier as they worked through traffic, allowing R.J. Conley to close with four laps to go. At the 37 lap mark Montgomery drove to within three car lengths, but Carrier's Ford had just a little too much punch to claim the win over Montgomery, who won the last All Star feature at K-C in the "Halloween 50" in October.


April 30 - K-C Raceway - O'Reilly All Stars
1) Eddie Carrier, Jr., 2) Jason Montgomery, 3) R.J. Conley, 4) Rod Conley, 5) Matt Miley, 6) Doug Dodd, 7) Greg Oakes, 8) Delmas Conley, 9) Jeff Burdette, 10) Terry Hicks, 11) Boom Briggs, 12) Matt Miller, 13) Colton Burdette, 14) Mark Frazier, 15) Mick Samson, 16) Russ Frohnapfel, 17) Zach Dohm, 18) Duane Chamberlain, 19) Brian Casey, 20) Jeep Van Wormer, 21) Rick Aukland, 22) Shannon Thornsberry, 23) Chad Smith, 24) Josh McGuire.
Fast Time (37 entries) : Moran (13.579); Heat winners: Chamberlain, Rod Conley, Carrier, McGuire; B-Main winners: Miller, Aukland.

Thomas Hendrickson photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box