- Apr. 30 - Great American Dirt Track (NCRA) by Sam Holbrooks


Jetmore Top 5

The Jetmore Top 5 (l.tor.) Jon Anderson, Kelly Boen, Kyle Berck, Jesse Stovall, and winner Al Purkey. (Lloyd Collins)

MLRA/MARS/NCRA/CLMA: Purkey Shines in Home State in "Sunflower State Showdown"


David Smith, Jr.


JETMORE, Kan. - April 30. Former two time series champion Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kansas kicked off the 2011 campaign for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products late model DIRTcar in huge fashion as he held off late race charges from Jessie Stovall to claim the $10,000 paycheck and the second annual "Sunflower State Showdown" Saturday at the Great American Dirt Track.


Forty-seven drivers from eight different states were on hand for this huge one night event which was a combined series effort with the CLMA DIRTcar, MARS DIRTcar and Lucas Oil MLRA late model series.


By virtue of obtaining the most passing points and heat race finishing points out of the five heat races that were completed earlier in the evening, Tony Jackson, Jr. of Lebanon, Missouri started on the pole for the 50 lap feature finale with Woodward, Oklahoma’s Tommy Weder, Jr. on the outside.



Jesse Stovall - Jon Anderson

Continuing to makes some noise since stepping into a Late Model race car, Modified alumnus Jesse Stovall leads #2 Jon Anderson en route to a second place at the Great American Dirt Track. (Ron Mitchell)

Kyle Berck - Tommy Weder - Great American Dirt Track

Kyle Berck moves under fellow heat winner Tommy Weder, Jr. on his way to third place. Weder dropped to seventh at the finish. (Lloyd Collins) 

Jackson took the lead at the wave of the green flag with Weder, former two-time series champion Kyle Berck of Marquette, Nebraska and fourth starting Purkey giving chase.


A couple laps into the race the first and only caution flag fell for a spin by Leroy Johnson. Jackson pulled away on the restart with Weder, Jr., Purkey, and Berck making it a three car battle for the runner up position. Purkey would overtake Weder, Jr. for the runner up position around lap twelve and set his sights on the leader.


Heavy lapped traffic approached the front runners and on lap twelve, Purkey and Jackson, Jr. split a lapped car with Purkey up top and would take the lead.

Behind the front runners, eleventh starting Jesse Stovall began working his way up to the front and around the midway point had worked himself into the third position. Around lap thirty Stovall got around Jackson, Jr. and set his


Anthony Madrid - Sunflower State Showdown

Arizona driver Anthony Madrid made a rare appearance with his midwestern counterparts and qualified for the show to post a 20th place showing. (Ron Mitchell)

sights on the leader Purkey, who had opened up a comfortable twelve car length lead. 


With ten laps to go Stovall used the high line to cut Purkey’s lead to just three car length and would pull even with the late model veteran one lap later. But that would be as close as Stovall would get as Purkey held on the final laps to take the $10,000 victory. Berck held on for the third position with five-time and defending series champion Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado coming from his 20th starting position to take fourth. Defending race champion John Anderson of Omaha, Nebraska rounded out the top five.


Terry Phillips at Jetmore, Kansas

Normally an odds-on favorite to win when the big money is on the line, Springfield, Mo.'s Terry Phillips was shut out of the top five and had to settle for ninth place in the "Sunflower State Showdown". (Ron Mitchell)

April 29-30: MARS/MLRA/NCRA/CLMA Sunflower State Showdown - Great American Dirt Track
1) Al Purkey, 2) Jesse Stovall, 3) Kyle Berck, 4) Kelly Boen, 5) John Anderson, 6) Tony Jackson, Jr, 7) Tommy Weder, Jr., 8) Jack Sullivan, 9) Terry Phillips, 10) Wendell Wallace, 11) R.C. Whitwell, 12) Brandon McCormick, 13) Brad Looney, 14) Jon Mitchell, 15) Andrew Kosiski, 16) Gary Christian, 17) Jeremy Payne, 18) Corey Zeitner, 19) David Turner, 20) Anthony Madrid, 21) Dean Moore, 22) Alan Vaughn, 23) Bill Koons, 24) Eric Turner, 25) Al Humphrey, 26) Steve Lewis, 27) Leroy Johnson
Heat Winners (47 entries): Purkey, Weder, Sullivan, Jackson, Berck; B-Main winners: Whitwell, Looney

Ron Mitchell photo



Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box