- Apr. 2 - Lone Star Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Tackles Texas For the First Time at Lone Star

James Essex

KILGORE, Tex.  – Apr. 2. Two-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tennessee, took the lead with nine laps to go and went to win the first ever LOLMDS ever held in the state of Texas on Saturday at Lonestar Speedway. Bloomquist, who started tenth, earned $20,000 for his second series win of the year. 

Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., who started 17th, finished second; followed by pole-sitter Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., and Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn.

Shannon Babb took the lead on the eighth lap and appeared to be on his way to a convincing win until a caution flag with 18 laps to go allowed the field to close up behind him. The caution allowed both O’Neal and Bloomquist to tighten the battle for the lead in a race that saw several cautions for flat tires.

Bloomquist passed O’Neal for second on lap 87 and then four circuits later, he was all over Babb in the race for the lead. Bloomquist finally went by Babb heading into turn three with nine laps remaining. Babb then slowed with a flat tire with four laps to go, ending his bid to overtake Bloomquist. Bloomquist then went on to take the victory, his first in the Lone Star State.

“We just bided our time there for a while; we fired real well on the restarts. We got some breaks with the cautions and we new eventually it would be a tire game,” said the Hall-of-Famer, who’s right rear tire was bald as he stood in victory lane. “We had a good race there with O’Neal for a while, and once I got past him, I knew there was enough time left to catch Shannon. We were fortunate enough to close quickly on him and he left the door open there just enough for us to get by.”
Erb, who started on the inside of the ninth row, charged through the field with the help of some attrition, and wound up in the runner-up spot behind the driver that built his race car. O’Neal, who had a spirited battle with Bloomquist for several laps, finished third at the finish to climb to within five points of series points leader. Jimmy Owens, gave up fourth on the final lap to Pearson.
Caution Flags: Lap 6 (Billy Moyer Jr., John Blankenship); Lap 21 (Brad Neat); Lap 31 (Ray Cook); Lap 49 (Ronny Lee Hollingsworth); Lap 50 (Debris); Lap 75 (Steve Casebolt); Lap 82 (Eric Wells); Lap 83 (Jared Landers); Lap 84 (Tim Isenberg); Lap 93 (Chris Wall); Lap 96 (Shannon Babb)

Lucas Oil Series - Lone Star Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Dennis Erb, Jr., 3) Don O'Neal, 4) Earl Pearson, Jr., 5) Jimmy Owens, 6) Mike Marlar, 7) Billy Moyer, 8) Dale McDowell, 9) Tyler Reddick, 10) Frank Heckenast, Jr., 11) Steve Francis (prov.), 12) Jared Landers, 13) Dan Schlieper, 14) Eric Wells, 15) Tim Isenberg, 16) Bub McCool, 17) Chris Wall, 18) Shannon Babb, 19) Steve Casebolt, 20) Brad Neat (prov.), 21) David Breazeale, 22) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, 23) Ray Cook, 24) John Blankenship (prov.), 25) Billy Moyer, Jr.
Fast Time (48 entries): David Breazeale / 15.358 secs. Heat winners: O’Neal, Wall, Breazeale, Babb; B-Main winners: Erb, Wells.

Mark Bochiardy photo


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box