- Apr. 2 - Dubuque Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Brian Harris - Dubuque Speedway

Brian Harris sails toward the season opening IMCA Deery Brothers Series win at Dubuque Speedway. (Mike Ruefer)

Deery Brothers: Harris takes opening night honors in Dubuque

Brian Harris after his opening night Deery Bros. win at Dubuque. (Mike Ruefer) 
Bill Martin

DUBUQUE, Iowa - April 2. The first checkered flag of the silver anniversary Deery Brothers Summer Series flew for Brian Harris.

Harris led all 50 laps of Saturday’s opening night IMCA Late Model tour opener at Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, building up a big lead and then holding off Andy Eckrich after the sole caution of the contest came with nine circuits to go.

The series victory was Harris’ career fourth and paid $2,000. Eckrich, Tom Darbyshire, Tyler Bruening and Terry Neal rounded out the top five.

After drawing the outside row two start, Harris went immediately to the top groove. He caught up with the back of the field by lap 15 and led the second-running Darbyshire by a full straight at midway.

Jason Perry - Justin Kay - Dubuque Speedway

Eighth finishing Jason Perry races #15 Justin Kay at Dubuque. (Mike Ruefer)

Andy Eckrich at Dubuque Speedway

Andy Eckrich with Dad Larry Eckrich before bringing in a second place finish at Dubuque in his sophomore year of full time racing with the tour. (Mike Ruefer)

Harris had lapped 13 cars before the late caution came out. Eckrich, the 2010 tour rookie of the year, had started 15th, caught Darbyshire for the second spot and was making up ground while Harris looked for a way around three-wide backrunners.

The yellow resulting from defending champion Ray Guss Jr.’s flat tire erased what was still a sizable lead for Harris, who stuck to the higher line following the restart and then outran Eckrich coming out of the turns and took the win by two car lengths.

Darrel DeFrance was 13th in upping his perfect series attendance streak to 368 consecutive events. Guss raced his way back to 14th. All three of Harris’ previous Deery victories came in 2005. Todd Malmstrom won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

Nineteen race dates comprise the 26th annual tour. Next up are the $3,000 to win Slocum 50 at 34 Raceway in West Burlington on Saturday, April 9 and the Sunday, April 10 show at Quincy, Ill., Raceway.

Todd Malmstrom - Tom Darbyshire - Luke Goedert

Tom Darbyshire splits #75 Todd Malmstrom and #44 Luke Goedert before taking a third place finish at Dubuque.  (Mike Ruefer)

Ray Guss Jr - Dubuque Speedway

Defending series champ Ray Guss's new season got off to a rocky start as he put his car into an inside guardrail in his heat race.(Mike Ruefer) 

Deery Bros. – Dubuque Speedway
1) Brian Harris, 2) Andy Eckrich, 3) Tom Darbyshire, 4) Tyler Bruening, 5) Terry Neal, 6) Bryan Klein, 7) Rob Toland, 8) Jason Perry, 9) Justin Reed, 10) Mark Burgtorf, 11) Mike Murphy, Jr., 12) Colby Springsteen, 13) Darrel DeFrance, 14) Ray Guss, Jr., 15) Matt Strassheim, 16) Jeff Aikey, 17) Charlie McKenna, 18) Dan Shelliam, 19) Justin Kay, 20) Jason Frankel, 21) Todd Malmstrom, 22) Luke Goedert, 23) Jay Johnson, 24) Billy Tuckwell.
Heat winners: Neal, Perry

Darrell Unzel photo



Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box