- Apr. 16 - Gordon Park Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Ultimate SLM: Henderson Wins First - Brindle Takes Points Lead

Jason Curd

AUGUSTA, Ga. - April 16. In an exciting race that provided three and four-wide racing most of the evening, South Carolina driver John Henderson, Jr. won the largest single victory in his young racing career Saturday at Gordon Park Speedway.

Veteran Ricky Weeks led the event for a number of laps, but was overtaken going into turn one on a double file restart by Casey Roberts. Roberts broke down several laps later with differential trouble, giving the lead back to Weeks.

Henderson moved up to challenge Weeks side by side on more than one occasion before Weeks suffered a flat tire going into turn one. Henderson's car was buried under Weeks' mount, but somehow the two avoided a wreck and Henderson had the lead.

Georgia points leader Chip Brindle moved to second place was putting the heat on Brindle, but the front end on Brindle's car pushed coming off turn one, allowing Henderson to stretch the lead once again and take the biggest payday of his career.  

"These guys did an incredible job tonight," stated Promoter Bryan Stewart. "We had one Ultimate event earlier this year at Modoc, plus this one tonight at Gordon Park, and they have both been absoutley fantastic. I can't see how there could better racing. I saw teams do things in race cars tonight you almost couldn't believe unless you actually saw it."

Ivedent Lloyd won the top gun award, setting a new track record in qualifying. His loot for the top position was a $500, but Lloyd accepted another $500 from promoters Lenny Hobbs and Bryan Stewart to give up his secured pole position start and draw for his starting position.

Brindle's second place finish gave him the lead in series points, and the lead in the Rookie of the Year standings.

April 16 - Ultimate Racing Series - Gordon Park Speedway
1) John Henderson, 2) Chip Brindle, 3) Ivendent Lloyd, 4) Benji Cole, 5) Petey Ivey, 6) Dennis Franklin, 7) Monk Gulledge, 8) Chris Ferguson, 9) Zack Mitchell, 10) Colby Cannon, 11) Daniel Baggerly, 12) Travis Stoner, 13) Casey Barrow, 14) John Pursley, 15) Ricky Weeks, 16) David McCoy, 17) Casey Roberts, 18) Ross Bailes, 19) Scott Shirey, 20) Terry Bullard, 21) Jordy Nipper, 22) Richie Corley, 23) Jeff Smith, 24) Bubba Russell, 25) Jimmy Ivester


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box