- Apr. 12 - Quincy Raceways by Sam Holbrooks

Matt Bailey took the lead from pole sitter Mark Burgtorf and only glanced back to take the Deery Bros. Summer Series Late Model race at Quincy Raceways Sunday. (Rich Edwards Jr.)
IMCA Deery Brothers: Bailey Banks First Career Deery Win at Quincy   

Bill Martin

QUINCY, Ill.  – April 10. Fans at Quincy Raceway got to applaud the exploits of another hometown hero in Sunday’s Deery Brothers Summer Series feature.

Matt Bailey won for the first time in his IMCA Late Model tour career, taking the $2,000 victory ahead of series heavyweight Mark Burgtorf and new point leader Terry Neal.

Burgtorf came into the night with a record nine Deery wins at Quincy to his credit and became an even better bet to get number 10 when he drew the pole start.

He was running at the front of the field when the only yellow flag Late Models saw all night came out on lap 10. The fourth starting Bailey went low to take

Matt Bailey - Mark Burgtorf - Quincy Raceways IMCA Deery Brothers

Matt Bailey slips past Deery Brothers heavy hitter Mark Burgtorf to take the lead and his first series win at his home track. (John Vass)

Tyler Bruening - Andy Eckrich - Quincy Raceways Deery Brothers

Tyler Bruening goes under Andy Eckrich on his way to fifth place at Quincy Raceways. (John Vass)

the front spot away on lap 12, lost the point briefly as the two came to the flagstand on lap 16, then regained the advantage during a side-by-side tussle that continued past halfway.

Bailey got some distance on Burgtorf as the two encountered backrunners with 10 laps to go. Slower cars weren’t a factor, however, as Bailey collected the checkers by most of four car lengths over Burgtorf.

Jason Perry - Denny Woodruff - Quincy Raceways IMCA Deery Bros.

Jason Perry races #46 Denny Woodruff hard for position at Quincy Raceways before getting past and ultimately taking seventh place. (John Vass)

Neal posted his third top five finish of the early season in taking over the point lead. Justin Reed and Tyler Bruening rounded out the top five. Defending series champion Ray Guss Jr. was sixth.

Bailey follows Brian Harris and fellow first-time winner Matt Ryan to victory lane this season. His previous best finish, in half a dozen main event starts, had been sixth at Quincy in 2006.

The last eight Deery events, going back to Aug. 3 of 2010, have resulted in as many different win­ners.

T.J. Criss cashed in on the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing. 

Matt Bailey VL Quincy Raceways IMCA Deery Brothers

Matt Bailey with the spoils of victory at Quincy Raceways Sunday. (Randy Brown)

Quincy Raceways - IMCA Deery Bros.
1) Matt Bailey, 2) Mark Burgtorf, 3) Terry Neal, 4) Justin Reed, 5) Tyler Bruening, 6) Ray Guss Jr., 7) Jason Perry, 8) Darrel DeFrance, 9) Andy Eckrich, 10) Tom Darbyshire, 11) Mike Murphy Jr., 12) Nate Beuseling, 13) Denny Woodworth, 14) Matt Strassheim, 15) Joey Gower, 16) Colby Springsteen (prov.), 17) Mike Garland, 18) Tommy Elston, 19) T.J. Criss, 20) Boone McLaughlin (prov.), 21) Keith Pratt, 22) Sam Halstead, 23) Todd Malmstrom (prov.), 24) Jason Frankel
Heat winners: Strassheim, Bruening, Gower, Darbyshire; B-Feature winners: Neal, Beuseling.

John Vass photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box