(Rick Schwallie photo)

Moyer Outduels Richards For "Winternationals" Win

Series Report

GIBSONTON, Fla. (Feb. 3) -Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark. claimed his20th career win at East Bay Raceway Park on Wednesday during the 34th annual DART Winternationals. Moyer and Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.V. exchanged the lead four times in the final six laps in a stirring race that had the fans on their feet. Moyer's win was the 718th of his illustrious career after he managed to hold off Richards with some of the smoothest driving of his career for the $5,000 win.


Justin Rattliff and #44 Earl Pearson, Jr. race at mid-pack during night #3 of the Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park. (Rick Schwallie)

After a multi-car crash that ended the night for Chris Wall,, Richards took the lead over Moyer and stretched his lead by four laps by lap four while Moyer battled off Shannon Babb on the high side. Moyer had pulled to within a half a car length at the start-finish line of Richards on lap ten, however At the time, Jimmy Owens managed to displace Babb for third at the same time. The race for the lead continued to be heated between Richards and Moyer as they lapped Brandon Thirlby, who lost a right front wheel and brought out the next caution. The race restarted with Richards in front, with Moyer and Babb restarting side-by-side.

 With a Tim Isenberg spin bringing out a final caution on lap 17, this set up a 13 lap final run.  Richards led the pack to green for the restart. Babb jumped back to the topside, squeezing by Moyer to take second place away. Moyer fought back two circuits later to regain the runner-up spot, then picked up the pace and began to challenge Richards. Moyer gained ground with each lap, and with six laps to go, the two were dead even for the lead.


Tim McCreadie, #5 Eric Jacobsen, and #17 Tim Dohm look for the fastest way around East Bay Raceway Park on night #3 of the Lucas Oil Series-run "Winternationals". (Rick Schwallie)

 After Moyer got by Richards with five to go, Richards moved by on the outside and regained it on lap 27. The duo went at it tooth-and-nail util Moyer went underneath Richards and barely got a nose on him as the duo took the white flag lap. Moyer held the lead heading into turn three. Richards made a wide sweep to the outside and gave it everything he had to earn the win, but Moyer had the momentum as the two headed to the finish line, winning by a length.

Moyer had a wide smile as he exited his race car in Victory Lane for the 20 time at East Bay, one of the last at the "clay by the bay" of his storied career.


Billy Moyer and #25 Josh Richards race for the lead early on during Wednesday's "Winternationals" event at East Bay Raceway Park. Moyer ultimately prevailed for his fourth special event win of 2010. (Rick Schwallie)

"Retirement is a lot closer than people think, "said the 52-year-old dirt veteran. "That was a heck of a good race out there with Josh, he raced me clean and I gave him room as well, the track was excellent tonight. I've got to thank Leon Henderson for getting me down here, we weren't going to come as of the first of the year, but he called and we got this deal together and I am glad to get this win for him. also thanks to the fans for coming out here tonight I am sure that was exciting for them to watch," said Moyer who recorded his 13th career win on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series tour.

Race Summary
Wednesday Night, February 3rd, 2010
"34th Annual DART Winternationals"
East Bay Raceway Park - Tampa, FL

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time: Billy Moyer / 14.281 seconds

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Billy Moyer, Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, Justin Rattliff, Austin Hubbard, Steve Casebolt, Jason Feger, Bub McCool, Brandon Thirlby, Chad Hollenbeck, Travis Varnadore, DNS Scott Bloomquist

AFCO Racing Products Second Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Eric Jacobsen, John Blankenship, Tim Dohm, Terry Casey, Shan Smith, Doug Blashe, Leon Henderson, Eric Wells, Daniel Stone, Dale McDowell, Ross Camponovo

Allstar Performance Third Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Josh Richards, Chris Wall, Tim McCreadie, Jason McBride, Steve Shaver, Tim Isenberg, Dillan White, Brad Neat, Tyler Reddick, James O'Hara, Robert Geiger

Wrisco Aluminum Fourth Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Shannon Babb, Matt Miller, Dennis Erb, Jr, Brady Smith, Earl Pearson, Jr, Ray Cook, Kyle Berck, Chad Stapleton, Danny Mitchell, Mark Andersen, Mike Marlar, Mike Collins

Hawk Brake First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 4 Transfers): Steve Casebolt, Austin Hubbard, Jason Feger, Brandon Thirlby, Doug Blashe, Shan Smith, Travis Varnadore, Leon Henderson, Terry Casey, Chad Hollenbeck, Daniel Stone, DNS Eric Wells, Dale McDowell. Dan Schlieper, Ross Camponovo, Scott Bloomquist

Performance Rod and Custom (PRC) Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 4 Transfers): Earl Pearson, Jr, Dillan White, Tim Isenberg, Tyler Reddick, Chad Stapleton, Mark Andersen, James O'Hara, Mike Marlar, Kyle Berck, Steve Shaver, Ray Cook, Brad Neat, Robert Geiger, Danny Mitchell, DNS John Kellum, Mike Collins

PRC Strawberry Dash (5 Laps - Winner Transfers): Bub McCool, Shan Smith, Doug Blashe, Terry Casey, Brad Neat, DNS Travis Varnadore, Leon Henderson, Mark Andersen, Daniel Stone, Steve Shaver

34th Annual DART Winternationals Tuesday Feature Finish (30 Laps):

(1) Billy Moyer, (2) Josh Richards, (3) Shannon Babb, (4) Don O'Neal, (5) Jimmy Owens, (6) Tim Dohm, (7) Matt Miller, (8) Dennis Erb, Jr., (9) Earl Pearson, Jr., (10) Tim McCreadie, (11) Eric Jacobsen, (12) Steve Francis, (13) Bub McCool, (14) Brady Smith, (15) Tim Isenberg, (16) Austin Hubbard, (17) John Blankenship, (18) Jason Feger, (19) Steve Casebolt, (20) Jason McBride, (21) Dillon White, (22) Tyler Reddick, (23) Brandon Thirlby, (24) Justin Rattliff, (25) Eric Wells (prov.), 26. Chris Wall

Race Statistics

Entrants: 49
Caution Flags: (Lap 0) Chris Wall, Justin Rattliff, Steve Casebolt, Tim Isenberg, (Lap 7) Justin Rattliff, (Lap 17) Tim Isenberg
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: None
DART Fast Pass Provisional: Eric Wells
PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Bub McCool (Started 24th , Finished 13th , Advanced 11 positions)
Ohlins Shocks Performer of the Race: Shannon Babb
K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Billy Moyer
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: None
Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Chris Wall
DirtonDirt.com Crew Chief of the Race: Steve Norris (Billy Moyer)
Time of Race:
  22 minutes, 21 seconds

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Dirt Racer Magazine