Bloomquist - East Bay Victory Lane

Scott Bloomquist in Victory Lane on February 2nd at Tampa's East Bay Raceway Park. (Rick Schwallie)

Bloomquist Takes Night Two of "Winternationals" at East Bay Raceway Park

Series Report

TAMPA, Fla., (February 2) – Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tennessee put on a clinic Tuesday Night at East Bay Raceway Park. It was the second night of the 34th Annual DART Winternationals and he led from flag-to-flag for his third win of his career at East Bay and his 18th career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory. Bloomquist, the defending series champion, dominated the main event, earning $5,000.

Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL finished second followed by Matt Miller of Waterville, OH; Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI; and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.

Bloomquist started on the front row alongside of 12-time East Bay winner, Don O'Neal and jumped to the point, with O'Neal running second, followed by Eric Jacobsen, and Tim Isenberg. By the fourth lap, Bloomquist was already up to a six-car length advantage as he made quick work of the field early on. Jacobsen maintained his second spot until lap eight when he and O'Neal go together after both had slowed. Jacobsen was forced to leave the race with a damaged car; O'Neal continued in the second spot. O'Neal managed only one green flag until he drifted up the race track in turn two, ultimately ending his night.

On the restart Bloomquist remained strong as he now had Erb behind him in second, followed by Isenberg, who was enjoying a solid performance. Miller started to make his way towards the front,, gaining the third spot on lap ten as he brought Josh Richards and Austin Hubbard with him into the top five. Richards stayed in front until he had problems in turn two, forcing him to slow, then restart on the tail of the field.

In the Lucas Oil Victory Lane, Bloomquist talked about his dominating performance on Tuesday Night. "We just kicked everybody's butt tonight, we are on top of our game right now, and we are looking forward to a big year, we ran well at Golden Isles and to come here a track we have struggled at in the past, it feels real good to out there and do what we did tonight," said the 46 year old Bloomquist, who owns seven national touring titles in his career ,including last years' Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship.

"I wish my family was here to see this, Bob and Barb Miller they will be down later in the week, the car was outstanding and we had no problems," said Bloomquist who set fast time in the Red Buck Cigar Time Trials .

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary Tuesday Night, February 2nd

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist / 14.875 seconds

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Don O'Neal, Jason Feger, Austin Hubbard, Billy Moyer, Steve Shaver, Brandon Thirlby, Steve Casebolt, Travis Varnadore, Mike Collins, Danny Mitchell, Tim Dohm

AFCO Racing Products Second Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Eric Jacobson, Dennis Erb, Jr, Josh Richards, Jason McBride, Ray Cook, Tyler Reddick, Shannon Babb, Chad Stapleton, Shan Smith, Doug Blashe, Robert Geiger

Allstar Performance Third Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Matt Miller, John Blankenship, Terry Casey, Dan Schlieper, Eric Wells, Mark Andersen, Dillan White, James O'Hara, Dale McDowell, Chad Hollenbeck

Wrisco Aluminum Fourth Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Tim Isenberg, Chris Wall, Kyle Berck, Tim McCreadie, Daniel Stone, Justin Rattliff, Bub McCool, John Kellum, Leon Henderson, DNS Mike Marlar

Hawk Brake First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 4 Transfers): Ray Cook, Steve Shaver, Brandon Thirlby, Steve Casebolt, Tyler Reddick, Travis Varnadore, Mike Collins, Chad Stapleton, Shan Smith, Doug Blashe, Danny Mitchell, Shannon Babb, Tim Dohm, Bob Geiger

Performance Rod and Custom (PRC) Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 4 Transfers): Dan Schlieper, Daniel Stone, Dillan White, Eric Wells, Mark Andersen, Bub McCool, John Kellum, James O'Hara, Chad Hollenbeck, Leon Henderson, Dale McDowell, Mike Marlar, Justin Rattliff

PRC Strawberry Dash (8 Laps - Winner Transfers): Danny Mitchell, Chad Hollenbeck, Shannon Babb, Chad Stapleton, Robert Geiger, Mike Collins, James O'Hara, Mike Marlar

 34th Annual DART Winternationals Tuesday Night Feature Finish (30 Laps):

(1) Scott Bloomquist, (2) Dennis Erb, Jr., (3) Matt Miller, (4) Dan Schlieper, (5) Ray Cook, (6) Chris Wall, (7) Tim Isenberg, (8) Josh Richards, (9) Kyle Berck, (10) Jason Feger, (11) Jason McBride, (12) Steve Casebolt, (13) Tim McCreadie, (14) Austin Hubbard, (15) Brandon Thirlby, (16) John Blankenship, (17) Steve Shaver, (18) Dillon White, (19) Eric Jacobsen, (20) Don O'Neal, (21) Eric Wells, (22) Billy Moyer, (23) Justin Rattliff (prov.), (24) Daniel Stone, (25) Terry Casey, (26) Danny Mitchell,

Race Statistics Entrants: 43; Lap Leaders: 1-30 Scott Bloomquist

Caution Flags: (Lap 1) Terry Casey, (Lap 2) Danny Mitchell, (Lap 7) Eric Jacobsen, (Lap 7 ) Don O'Neal, (Lap 8) Jason Feger, (Lap 9) Chris Wall, (Lap 14) Steve Shaver, (Lap 15) Josh Richards, (Lap 16) Austin Hubbard, (Lap 20) Tim McCreadie

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: None; DART Fast Pass Provisional: Justin Rattliff

PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Dan Schlieper (Started 16th , Finished 4th)

Ohlins Shocks Performer of the Race: Dennis Erb, Jr.

K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Ray Cook

Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: None

Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Vic Hill Racing Engines

Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Eric Jacobson Crew Chief of the Race: Tommy Hicks (Scott Bloomquist)

Time of Race: 39 minutes, 10 seconds

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Dirt Racer Magazine